Thankful Thursday: It’s Been Awhile

Click for button code.

It has been far too long since I participated in Thankful Thursday, and I realized that it’s high time that I do. If ever there was a time in my life when I need to focus on what I can be grateful for, it’s now.

It’s gratitude that can shape a heart that is struggling to be more like Jesus. It’s gratitude that keeps anger, bitterness, and doubt at bay. It’s gratitude that draws us nearer to God, and opens us up to his comfort. It keeps our hearts soft and receptive to the direction and teaching of the Holy Spirit.

Today, I am thankful for…

…a husband who has been more understanding and loving than I deserve. His support, strength, and amazing hugs are a gift.

…Dad’s salvation. He knows where he is going, and so do I. I don’t have to share the Gospel with my father, who is facing his ultimate destination in the coming weeks.

…my children, who bring so many moments of joy and challenge. Who need me so much, and give me a good reason to wake up, walk in faith, and smile everyday.

…my friends, who have rallied around me in a way that overwhelms me with kindness. Food, chocolate, sweet texts and random kind words have all been showered on me in a show of love that I don’t deserve. I only pray I can return the favor.

…my sisters and my mother, who are walking this journey with me.

…the body of Christ, who have showed me that none of us walks this narrow path alone. Not really.

…the stories others have shared with me. Everyone has a story. Everyone knows someone with cancer, or in equally difficult circumstances. These stories have kept me from turning completely inward, and have encouraged me to keep praying for others, and not just myself.

…prayer. It works.

That’s all for now. I will do my best to keep this up. I know it will help me as I grieve. I know there is no “right or wrong” way to grieve, but I want to keep my eyes on Jesus’ beautiful face as I do. I want to keep my great Hope before me always.

Thank you, Iris, for hosting. And for putting up with this irregularly contributing girl! Click HERE to see the others who are participating.

What are you thankful for this week?

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

5 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: It’s Been Awhile

  1. Oh Dear Tiffany,
    You are a gift. Your wisdom, faith and love are your beauty and your strength.
    I am thankful for you and what you bring to this very large family.
    Hugging you tight in my heart.

  2. I’m sorry you have to face this, but glad you know where to turn for help. God will be near and you will take away bittersweet memories from this time. May you see His hand in the midst of the pain.

  3. Pingback: Grace Alone… » Blog Archive » Thankful Thursday ~ Joy

Comments are closed.