Update on My Dad

Last time Dad went in to the doctor’s office, a few more spots were found on his lungs. Today, I received this email from him:

I thank God for all of you and your continued prayers. I covet your prayers more so this week. I’m having an MRI(brain) and a CAT scan (lungs) this week along with the results. I would definitely like to have Gods blessing of a complete healing and restoration of health.

I ask for God’s complete guidance if I have to make some tough decisions regarding whether or not to take advantage of additional treatment options.

Yet, whatever the results I so desperately want God to glorify Himself and draw others to him. If “..to live is Christ…” then I want to do just that. Please pray that God continues to bless me with the opportunities I have had to share His love with others and hopefully encourage all who may have contact with me.

You all have blessed our lives so much with your prayers and expressions of love. My prayer for you; May God bless you and keep you in his loving protection and grant the desires of your heart according to His will. May He comfort you through all lifes blessings and trial.

Psalm 94: 18-19, 22

When I said, “My foot has slipped,”
Your love oh Lord has supported me.
When anxiety was great within me,
Your consolation brought Joy to my Soul
But the Lord has become my fortress,
and my God, the rock in whom I take refuge.

God Bless,
Daron

Once again, my heart sunk. This is such a very real and ongoing battle for my family, and I wish sometimes that there were an easier way for the Lord to be glorified. Yes, my foot slips, but it is also with a resounding yes that I know it’s the love of Jesus that is supporting me. Supporting my parents and my sisters through this. Anxiety looms large, but the joy of our salvation is greater! The reality of God and his faithfulness is an immovable rock beneath my feet and at my back. I cannot be shaken.

He is good.

He owns this.

My Dad is in his hands forever.

My Dad will be healed – whether this side of heaven or the other, God has promised it, and I will trust in Him alone.

Yes, weeping may endure for the night, but joy comes in the morning! I will likely cry about this, and wonder again why I can’t live close to home and be there for all of this, but I know I serve the God of All Comfort, and he will sustain me.

I will be okay.

I will be okay, because I have a living hope. Hope based in reality. The reality of God’s love for my family, the reality of heaven, and the reality of Jesus Christ and him crucified.

To live is Christ, and to die is gain. (Philippians 1:21)

And that is the beginning and end of all that I am.

Please pray for my parents. For wisdom, clarity, joy, and strength. Thank you.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

6 thoughts on “Update on My Dad

  1. You guys are all so strong! I know your family is looking forward to getting to spend some time with you soon. The girls’ grandpa was diagnosed with a rare form of prostate cancer, stage 8, a few months ago.. it went from nothing to all over within a few months, but he is responding to treatment now, so instead of weeks, we are looking at a year or two. We are very blessed to have the time we do with him. I feel deeply for the heartache you must have about living so far away! There is no doubt that your thoughts and prayers are always with him and your mom, and feel good in the knowledge that they know it.

    • Thank you, Kristina. 🙂 Is it Dustin’s dad that is being treated, or yours? I’ll keep him in my prayers as well.

  2. Hey, Tiff.
    I am sad about this. I cannot imagine. I am praying for your dad and for the whole family. Do not be shy to holler if you need to talk.
    I hear you got rain. Same here.. Makes such a difference.
    Be blessed, Friend.

    • We did get rain – and it was gorgeous! Thank you for your prayers. That is what we need most right now.

Comments are closed.