He is all.

“What then shall we say? Is God unjust? Not at all! For he says to Moses, ‘I will have mercy on whom I have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I have compassion.’ It does not, therefore, depend on man’s desire or effort, but on God’s mercy.” ~Romans 9:14-16 (NIV – emphasis mine)

What is it that depends on God’s mercy? His purpose in election (vs. 11).

As much as we would like to think it is we have bestowed upon God our valuable lives, it is actually his mercy that has chosen our worthless lives, and made them something worth living.

I won’t attempt to explain how free will and election go hand-in-hand, because that is beyond my ability. I just know, as a child of God, that I did not choose him nearly as much as he chose me!

That last, beautiful sentence comforts me so much! It’s all about his unchangeable mercy and compassion! His choice to love me, not my effort or desire. I cannot lose him, because he will never let go of me.

He has mercy on whom he will have mercy, and that mercy is unfailing.

No matter how much effort I put forth. No matter how much I desire to claim even a small piece of credit for my salvation through works. None of it matters as much as the fact that God chose me.

I cannot be un-chosen. Perhaps I could walk away, but that is another discussion for another day.

Today, I revel in my chosen-ness, knowing it was by no merit, effort, or desire of my own that led God to choose me. It was strictly his love for me, and his desire to show me mercy and compassion.

I claim nothing, because I have nothing, because I am nothing.

He chose me. He is all.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

