Never a Blind Faith.

Image from: holybible.ucoz.org/

A newly married marine has lost his legs and is fighting infection. There are many in our armed forces like him.

A friend has faced major surgery, a child with multiple special needs, fibromyalgia, and other difficulties over the past few years.

Another friend has a daughter facing multiple medical needs.

Still other friends, and their children, are dealing with the after effects of divorce and remarriage, and the difficulties involved in blending two families.

The Waldo Canyon Fire has burned “17,827 acres, containment increased to 55 percent from 45 percent on Saturday, estimated date of full containment moved up five days to July 11, number of evacuees reduced to 3,000, estimated cost of fighting the fire increased to $11.1 million from $8.9 million on Saturday, number of personnel working on the fire is now 1,581 in 33 crews using 80 engines, 15 bulldozers, 16 water tenders and 11 helicopters.”

So, though we see a lot of improvement, and have much to be thankful for, it is still a big, stinking deal.

My dad has stage four malignant melanoma. And I have to tell my kids about it soon. They don’t know yet. Actually, Levi is going to tell them, to keep me from breaking down and scaring them with my tears. He is also dealing with a herniated disc, and is getting a steroid shot today for pain management.

My mom is being seen for a few medical needs as well.

My husband is facing chronic issues to which we don’t have answers yet. Durin needs an eye exam, and Audrey needs some lab work. All four kids need a dental cleaning SOON.

We cannot afford insurance. (Thank you, President Obama & the Supreme Court.)

There is a lot in this life that troubles us. So much that is wrong in this world. Each of our burdens is so heavy, and we may wonder if God hears us. We pray, and feel like our prayers bounce off the ceiling and back into our laps.

We struggle. We cry. We lose sleep. We hurt.

I cried out to God for help; I cried out to God to hear me.
When I was in distress, I sought the Lord;
at night I stretched out untiring hands and my soul refused to be comforted.
I remembered you, O God, and I groaned; I mused, and my spirit grew faint. Selah

You kept my eyes from closing; I was too troubled to speak.
I thought about the former days, the years of long ago;
I remembered my songs in the night. My heart mused and my spirit inquired:
“Will the Lord reject forever? Will he never show his favor again?
Has his unfailing love vanished forever? Has his promise failed for all time?
Has God forgotten to be merciful? Has he in anger withheld his compassion?” Selah

~Psalm 77:1-9 (NIV)

We ask these questions, and God is silent. What do we do then? When it seems like Heaven has no response for us?

I can’t say this better than the Word of God, so I won’t try:

“Then I thought, “To this I will appeal: the years of the right hand of the Most High.”

I will remember the deeds of the LORD; yes, I will remember your miracles of long ago.
I will meditate on all your works and consider all your mighty deeds.
Your ways, O God, are holy. What god is so great as our God?

You are the God who performs miracles; you display your power among the peoples.
With your mighty arm you redeemed your people, the descendants of Jacob and Joseph. Selah”

~Psalm 77:10-15 (NIV)

We appeal to God’s history.

We don’t need to ask him to prove anything to us. He already has. What do we think the Word of God is for? It’s all written down so that we have something concrete to stand on during the times we can’t hear his voice. The times he asks us to trust.

We sometimes make the mistake of thinking that our faith is blind.

Our faith never has to be blind.

God is greater than that.

His deeds have been written down. Proof that he keeps his promises is in black and white, on paper, for us to look to when we cannot see what he is doing now.

From the front cover to the back, God’s history and character is made known. In the pages of this Great Book, lies the basis for our faith. There is always an answer from Heaven. It’s not that God is really silent, it’s that he wants us to look to his Word, where all of his answers to Life are already written down.

Sometimes, he will speak to our hearts, but how many times do our answers come from a well-timed Scripture? We read it in our quiet times; a friend shares it; we come across it on Facebook; our pastor shares it from the pulpit.

And we know it was meant for us.

Just because our prayers feel unanswered, doesn’t mean that they are.

God promises that our prayers will always be answered – according to his will, in his timing, and with what will answer the deepest need we carry – whether or not we can see it at the time.

When Jesus said to “Ask, and it will be given to you….” he meant it.

Look at the examples of answered prayer throughout Scripture. When you can’t hear God’s voice – read his voice, and take heart.

He hears you.

He is not ignoring you.

Meditate on his previous works, and consider all his mighty deeds from the time of Creation on. Look to the concrete examples in Scripture.

These are not just stories. They were each real people, who lived in real time, with real struggles, who really cried out to God, and whom he REALLY answered with mighty works.

What makes us think he will do any less for us?

He has never asked us to exercise a blind faith. Ever. He has asked us to trust him based on his already-established character, made manifest in his Word.

Trust him.

He’s given us a firm foundation, and a promise that he is never silent.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

3 thoughts on “Never a Blind Faith.

    • I do – everyday. And it’s so beautiful to know that my faith has a foundation MORE real than the nose on my face. MORE real than my problems. MORE real than cancer or fires or war. MORE real than I am.

      Blessed Assurance, Jesus is mine! Oh what a foretaste of glory divine! 😀

Comments are closed.