Not Out of God’s Hands


I got caught a little while ago in evacuation traffic.

Ash falling, smoke so thick I could only see the car in front of me. Cars and trucks piled high with whatever they could carry.

Homes and buildings are now burning, and firefighters have had to retreat from some areas, because it moved so quickly – thanks to 55mph wind gusts coming over the mountains.

You know it’s bad when FIREFIGHTERS have to run.

So many I know and care for are being evacuated. I am so thankful that I can offer my home to those who may need it, as I am on the exact opposite end of town.

I know that though God has not seen fit to send the rain, this is not out of his hands. He is not surprised. He is not shaken. He is present, and he can be trusted that this is somehow supposed to be the part of the fabric of Colorado Springs’ history. I don’t know why. I will not attempt to answer that.

All I know is that we are not alone. God hears us, and he is answering our deepest need – even if we cannot see it.

“When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior; I give Egypt for your ransom, Cush and Seba in your stead.” ~Isaiah 43:2-3 (NIV)

I don’t know how this will be made manifest, but I already know one thing: Not one life has been lost thus far. No injuries. Everyone is getting out safely. In spite of the loss of property that is taking place – perhaps we will see no human lives go up in flames.

I know it’s easy for me to say this. I’m not running from the flames. My home is not in danger. I don’t have to pack up my life, my children, my cats, or anything else and run. I look at my children and weep in thanksgiving that it’s not me who has to run. If the fires had come from the east and south…but they didn’t. They started in the mountains. In the west and north.

I don’t speak flippantly; neither do I take lightly the loss of homes where people have put down real roots. I only share what thoughts are running through my heart & mind at the moment.

I ponder, wonder, and pray desperately for rain.

Though he has not sent it, I still choose to trust that Colorado Springs is not out of God’s hands.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

7 thoughts on “Not Out of God’s Hands

  1. So well written Tiff. So true. Praise God that in His Sovereignty nothing is out of control and everything is 100% contained in His plan.

  2. I thought of that same passage in Isaiah, off and on today. “Thou shalt not be burned, neither shall the flame kindle upon thee . . . ” Oh so easy to say, another matter to believe when the flames are near. Praying.

  3. Pingback: FIRE! | Home's Cool!

Comments are closed.