Rain May Not Come…

Image from: gazette.com


As of this morning:

WALDO CANYON FIRE: Blaze at 3,446 acres, and is 0% contained. Still – there has been no structure damage, and no lives lost. This is a great testimony to the mercy of God, and evidence of his hand strengthening the brave firefighters working so hard to protect our city.

Regardless of the forecast, I know God is more than capable of sending rain, and I am praying fervently for it.

My children came to me this morning and asked, “Mom, if we clean the whole house today, can we play Wii?”

Considering the smoke in the air, and the 100-plus degree temperatures, I don’t think a clean house and video games will be an ill choice. The air seems mostly clear outside my home right now, as I think it’s blowing the other direction. Still, this is Colorado. The wind likes to change direction at will.

So, now the children are going all industrious and responsible on me while I sit here and type in my robe, with a cup of coffee.

I have a good life.

God met me yesterday. Right in the building in which he cannot be housed.

His love overwhelmed me, and I gave up again. Surrender really is sweet, when one finally realizes (again) that it’s not about me. It’s about him, and what he can do in me. His love knows no bounds, and it floored me, quite literally. He ministered to me through a little girl – aged 6 or so. He ministered to me through a song. Through the prayers of my pastor’s wife. And he just whispered to me.

I walked out of church yesterday different than when I walked in. I am a little closer to him today than I was yesterday, and I want each day that comes to be the same.

A little closer. A little wiser. A little more intimate with my Creator, Savior, King, and Friend.

My Bridegroom.

How I love him so.

Today is new, fresh, and full of possibility, because the God of “Nothing is Impossible” is on the throne.

And he always will be.

“If I had cherished sin in my heart, the Lord would not have listened; but God has surely listened and heard my voice in prayer. Praise be to God, who has not rejected my prayer or withheld his love from me!” ~Psalm 66:18-20 (NIV)

I learned yesterday morning that, though I still struggle against sin and selfishness, God hears me anyway! He hears me because 1) He loves me and I’m his child, and 2) Because I hate the sin that still comes to the surface. I don’t cherish sin in my heart. I long fervently to be rid of it forever!

It is God who will be faithful in purging all of it from me, little by little in this life; completely and permanently in the next.

I sigh with happiness and peace this morning, instead of discouragement. I know whom I serve. I recognize his voice when I hear it, and therefore, recognize the voice of the Father of Lies and can reject it more easily.

Fires may rage. Rain may not come. Cancer may kill. Death still takes us all.

But God is still on the throne. Still sovereign. Still good. And I am still saved.

What a rock to stand on!

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

