Better is One Day

This is actually my church. 🙂


I don’t go to church to hear good preaching, sing nice songs, or visit with nice people. I don’t go so I can feel better, fill some imaginary quota, or to mark another notch on my “goody-two-shoes” belt.

I don’t go expecting the pastor, the worship team, or anyone else to impress me. I don’t go for emotional fulfillment, to put on a good face, or to impress anyone else.

I don’t even go because I’m commanded, and ought to go. Of course it’s true that I ought to go, and that I am commanded to. That would, indeed, be reason enough to go. If that’s all the reason you have right now, hang onto that – God will give you more. Like he’s given me.

Why do I go to church, then?

I go to meet God, in his house, with his other children.

I go so I can sit at God’s dining room table, and break spiritual bread with my brothers & sisters in Christ. To solidify those family bonds that run as deep as the blood of Christ – a deeper connection than I can ever have with even my earthly blood relatives.

I go so I can allow God to work through others to minister to me, and so that he can more easily use me to bless others.

I go so I can be a part of the family of God, to worship in unity and solidarity with other people who are just as different from me as they can be.

I go so I can sit at the feet of Jesus and learn from him.

I go so I can get help to lay down my fleshly burdens, and carry the light burden of Jesus.

I go so I can be ministered to, and to minister to others. I go to learn how to be the church, and not just go to a church.

I go so I can remember that this life I live is not about me. It’s about Jesus Christ, and him crucified. It’s about loving God with all my heart, soul, mind, and strength. It’s about learning to love my neighbors as well as I love myself.

I go to learn how to put feet to my faith, and to walk it out as well as I talk it out.

I go to see examples of faith, to be an example of faith, and to stand alongside those nearest me in the journey.

I go to meet God at his house, with his family, to worship him in Spirit and in truth.

I go because I am glad to go. I delight in going. I delight in being a part of a family that will be with me for all of eternity. There is something special about the house of God. Something about knowing that he is not housed in the building, but in the hearts of all of us who believe, around the world, and that it pleases God to see his children getting along and loving each other.

I go to meet God. And better is that one day I spend in his presence with brothers & sisters than any other day of my week. No contest.

“Better is one day in your courts than a thousand elsewhere;
I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God
than dwell in the tents of the wicked.
For the LORD God is a sun and shield; the LORD bestows favor and honor;
no good thing does he withhold from those whose walk is blameless.
O LORD Almighty, blessed is the man who trusts in you.”

~Psalm 84:10-12 (NIV)

If you go to church, why do YOU go? What draws you to the house of God each week?

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

