Prayer Does Things

“But I call to God, and the LORD saves me. Evening, morning and noon I cry out in distress, and he hears my voice. He ransoms me unharmed from the battle waged against me, even though many oppose me.” ~Psalm 55:16-18 (NIV)

Image from: hediedformygrins.blogspot.com

I pray, God hears. That’s just the way it works.

I never have to worry if he’s busy, or if I’m “good enough,” or whether I’m using the right words.

I cry out in my distress (or just plain ol’ stress), in praise, in thanksgiving, in my need, wherever I am, whatever I am doing, and he hears my voice.

There is no such thing as white noise from God’s children where our sweet Heavenly Father is concerned. We are not just a buzzing in his ear, destined to be ignored. Our voices are precious to him – just like the adorably mispronounced first words of a toddler. He smiles in delight at our every attempt to connect with him in the communion of prayer. He turns his ears close to us and waits patiently for us to pour out our hearts, no matter how immature or simple our prayers may be.

He takes those precious words of ours, and turns them to his will in order to meet whatever our deepest need really is. Like a mother knows what is good and right for her young toddler, no matter what they’re asking for, so God knows what is good and right for us. Most of the time, we can’t see it for ourselves at all, but God is faithful, and meets us where we are, and gives us what he knows we need the most.

And he is good enough to give us eyes to see it. If not today, then tomorrow. So, we can always offer our thanksgiving for his goodness.

Morning, noon, and night I close my eyes and cry out to him. Throwing short sentences, questions, and requests heavenward in my attempt to stay connected all day with my generous Father. No matter what time of day it is, or where I am, he longs for and loves that connection with me. He pays attention to me, and uses every word of prayer I utter to shape me and help me grow.

He uses my prayers to minister to others who have need. To bless someone unexpectedly. To make himself and his glory known among my acquaintances. To show his love to the unlovely.

He ransoms me unharmed from battles I cannot win. He stands in my place and takes the blows meant for me, to protect me and keep me free to grow and mature in my faith. I never have to fear my enemy – even if I am out-numbered. God outnumbers all numbers, and I can rest in that, through prayer.

Prayer does things.

Not so much because I pray, but because God is faithful and listens. He knows what I need before I ask, but he likes to be asked, just the same. And when he is asked in humility and faith, he moves mountains.

What do you need prayer for today? Pray that I can glorify God through my work today, and that I would keep the main things the main things on this very busy day I have ahead of me. Thanks!

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

3 thoughts on “Prayer Does Things

  1. God’s children pray; He does things in response. So good.
    So unbelievable to some.
    Praying I can be wise as I answer attacks from detractors, today. Always so much fun. 😐

Comments are closed.