Book Review: Fourth Dawn by Bodie & Brock Thoene

Fourth Dawn (A.D. Chronicles #4)Fourth Dawn by Bodie Thoene
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I just finished this one the other day, and it was beautifully written. It jumps backwards in time to before Jesus’ birth, and tells the story of Mary & Joseph, as well as Zechariah and Elizabeth (the parents of John the Baptist).

Besides the first book in this series, this one has been the most believable. I was so bummed that it ended!

Unlike the other books in this series, the one flaw that bothers me the most is basically absent, which is refreshing. In this series, many of the characters look nothing like a first-century Middle Eastern person was likely to look. Far too many fair-skinned, fair-haired, light-eyed people for my taste. Thankfully, Fourth Dawn was more accurate there.

As far as I can tell, the historicity and theology of the books is accurate, and that is really the most important. I do worry, honestly, how the next book will turn out. I see glimpses of potential where the theology may begin to stray, and if that’s the case, I will be sorely disappointed to have to put the books down.

Taking on the life of Christ, from the perspectives of those around him is a huge undertaking, and I hope that the Thoene’s don’t push the boundaries and end up straying where they ought not to go. Thus far, they have not. It’s definitely hard to read this series with one eye on the Word of God, and one eye on the story.

View all my reviews

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Fourth Dawn by Bodie & Brock Thoene

  1. So, you liked it, but gave it a 4 — the main reason being you were not sure about the theology? Just curious.
    Also, did it treat Mary’s reaction to the crucifixion? I need to get inside her head at that time, for my own book, and wonder if they went there and if you found it believable.
    Thanks! πŸ™‚

    • The four stars were because of minor annoyances like appearances; I feel they’re always about to play too freely with the biblical facts, and the fact that I do feel like I’m waiting for the theology to go bad.

      For example, there have been hints in earlier books that Mary may be painted with a non-biblical brush. For one thing, they’ve already shown how people have a tendency to revere her. They haven’t endorsed that, but I worry they will.

      We haven’t reached the crucifixion yet. The first three books are still about halfway through his earthly ministry. This fourth book didn’t even make it to his birth yet, but we got to witness the birth of John the Baptist.

      Also – the books are amazing at illustrating, from OT prophecy, how Jesus fulfills it all! It’s fascinating, and even goes into how the stars themselves were declaring the coming of Christ. It’s pretty cool on that count.

Comments are closed.