Today Will Be Interesting

Image from gregdespres.com

I wake up at six-ish every morning, except Sundays. I do this, so that I can spend some time alone with God, in his Word, and in prayer.

I don’t share this to make anyone feel like they have to do what I do. This is just what comes easiest to me. I’m a natural morning person. I’ve come to really crave this time, and it is truly a “get to” thing for me, and not a “got to” thing. I wake up hungry for this time. So, I come to the table and eat my fill of my daily bread.

Anyway. Moving on.

Assisted by coffee (cream, no sugar), my brain clears and readies itself for the day ahead. I often enjoy the moments just following the sunrise at this time of year, and let the growing light warm me and cheer me. By the time the kids begin rising around 6:30 or 7:00 — one of the main reasons I’ll miss the winter months is that they always sleep until 7:30 or 8:00 — I’m ready to meet them and get life going.

Today will be interesting, since it did not go that way. I snoozed the alarm until Tischel got here at about 6:15 (doh!), Levi got out of bed with me (How on earth did that happen?!), and both boys were up by 6:30.

My time alone with God turned into just a few minutes. Just enough to read a few chapters, journal a prayer, and post the Scripture that stood out to me this morning. It didn’t feel like much.

I’m used to at least half an hour or more of very quiet, peaceful time.

I’m faced with a choice today. Do I allow myself to start out frustrated because my day is thrown off from the beginning, or do I just go with flow, understanding that there is a reason for every moment of everyday to go the way it will go?

Today, I choose to believe that God still has his hand on the times and places where I should go, and what I should do, and who I should be today.

“The God who made the world and everything in it is the Lord of heaven and earth and does not live in temples built by hands. And he is not served by human hands, as if he needed anything, because he himself gives all men life and breath and everything else. From one man he made every nation of men, that they should inhabit the whole earth; and he determined the times set for them and the exact places where they should live. God did this so that men would seek him and perhaps reach out for him and find him, though he is not far from each one of us.” ~Acts 17:24-27 (NIV – emphasis mine)

What I wanted this morning doesn’t matter. What matters is what I do with what I’ve been given. (Why, hello, Gandalf. I didn’t realize I’d see you today!)

I’m not going to worry about it. I can pray all day if I want to. I can meditate on the verses brought to my attention in the fleeting minutes I did have. I can choose to worship God and seek his Kingdom first today. After that, it’s all downhill, and in God’s hands anyway.

Why worry?

Good morning to you! The sun is shining, my coffee is perfect, and the sounds around me are of a family content. Even though most of them are awake, it’s peaceful right now. How about you? How do you feel when your chosen moments alone with God (whenever they take place during the day) is interrupted or postponed by life?

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

