He Walks With Me

“But you are a shield around me, O LORD; you bestow glory on me and lift up my head. To the LORD I cry aloud, and he answers me from his holy hill. Selah.” ~Psalm 3:3-4 (NIV)

Image from livingmyfaith.blogspot.com
This is how I feel most of the time. Like this baby.

Did you hear that?! HE ANSWERS ME. He answers me.

Forget that I just asked you if you could “hear” words on the internet. That’s beside the point.

The God of the Universe hears me.

Even when my first cry to him every morning is a cry asking for forgiveness, yet again, for falling short of his glory. For raising my voice too often against my kids, and even my husband. For neglecting to cry out to him in the middle of temptation, and trying to withstand it on my own. For being selfish, prideful, and walking in my flesh instead of the Spirit.

The gates of heaven open, and he hears me! He sits on my couch with me and lifts up my face to his. He looks in my eyes, and listens. Hangs on my every word with love and attention.

How can I do any less for my family or my friends? Or even strangers on the internet?

He bestows glory on me merely by being present with me. I bask in it, and revel in the intimacy of being hand-in-hand with him. He loves me. He listens and hears. And he answers.

The words of an old hymn come to mind:

“He Walks With Me” by Merle Haggard
I come to the garden alone

While the dew is still on roses
And the voice I hear falling
On my ear the son of God discloses

And He walks with me and He talks with me
And He tells me I am His own
And the joy we share as we tarry there
None other has ever known
Β 
He speaks and the sound of His voice
Is so sweet the birds hush their singing
And the melody that He gave to me
Within my heart is ringing

And He walks with me and He talks with me
And He tells me I am His own
And the joy we share as we tarry there
None other has ever known

That pretty much sums up my thoughts this morning.

He walks with me, and he talks with me. He tells me I am his own.

What else could I possibly need?

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

Alan Jackson’s rendering of the hymn, because I always hear the country version of this song:

6 thoughts on “He Walks With Me

  1. Hi there, Thanks for the comment on my blog (yesterday) and the invite to encourage one another. Yes, we all need that, particularly in this battle against our old nature and the sometimes difficulty of obedience to our Lord! God bless you!
    Elsie
    (http://livingmyfaith.blogspot.com)

Comments are closed.