Dishwasher Detergent: (Almost) Final Verdict

So here’s the deal-ee-oh.

I had given up long ago on homemade dishwasher detergent, thinking I had tried everything. Then, I found another recipe that called for salt, of all things, to be added to the mix.

It didn’t work. Not well, anyway.

It was recommended to me that I try citric acid, and a friend gave me a cup to try. It gets my dishes very clean, but after awhile, began to leave that weird film on my glasses and silverware that we all dread. It happened gradually, and I had already bought ten pounds of citric acid from My Spice Sage, at a cheaper price than even the generic sugar-less lemonade powder packets at Wal-Mart.

A few weeks into it, I started noticing that, while my dishes were clean, they weren’t shiny.

However, I’d just made a big batch of detergent, and was determined to figure it out. I already make every. other. stinking. cleaner in the house. Why couldn’t I find success with this?

As the batch began to run low, I started, on a whim, adding just a drop or two of Dawn. I wanted to see if it would make a difference until I could mix up a new batch and add the salt back in again.

It worked! My dishes are getting shiny again, though I’m sure it will take another round or two through the dishwasher before I’m happy with them.

So, here’s the recipe that is currently working:

1 c. Borax
1 c. Washing Soda
1 c. Citric Acid

Use 1 Tbsp. per dishwasher load, plus about 1 tsp. in the “extra” compartment if you need it. Then, add 1-3 drops regular, original Dawn to the main detergent compartment.

Rinse Aid: 1/4 c. white vinegar about once/month. Depends on your dishwasher.

This batch is about to run out, and when it does, I’m going to try adding in 1/2 c. Kosher salt, and give that a month’s test drive.

So, while this verdict isn’t final final, it’s almost there.

Do you make any of your own cleaners? Why or why not? What have you tried for your dishwasher that works? Part of my problem is that my dishwasher is considered “newer,” though I bought it six years ago, and homemade recipes tend to be tricky in those. Also, I live in an area with water as hard as nails. So, that doesn’t help. Do share!

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

5 thoughts on “Dishwasher Detergent: (Almost) Final Verdict

  1. I meant to get some from you to try dang it! I have made my own laundry detergent before (a long long time ago, it’s been awhile) and thanks to you I have an all purpose cleaner and bathroom cleaner that I make myself. I have been meaning to get back into making my own laundry detergent but I think I lost my recipe before or in the move. I wanted to ask what you use (email me if you feel so obliged). I’m glad you have figured out a few things to try and that it’s not a complete failure 🙂

  2. I’ve never made my own stuff. I’m interested in your final verdict, though. Then I might have to give it a try 🙂

  3. I cannot believe you have been posting and I have not received a thing from you. I thought you were resting. I am amazed and tempted to anger, except that I’m so amazed. I have missed so much.
    I do not make my own stuff, but do buy some that others have made. Bath soap, especially, but also have bought all the stuff to make my own laundry soap, but never had the nerve to try it. Sighs. It sits in my laundry room and the packages are dusty with dryer lint. Can you believe that? 😀
    PLEASE email me your most important posts from way back when, okay? I am amazed I thought you were taking a break. Sighs.

    • I sort of did take a break, actually. I think I went several months awhile back where I didn’t write, and didn’t read any blogs. I went to yours, and got all overwhelmified at the volume of posts I wanted to catch up on, so just gave up and started where I am. 🙂

      I don’t know which posts would be considered important ones to you, but I’ll give it a shot.

      Thanks for sticking around. You’re awesome.

      • God is awesome and He lets me tag along. ❤
        Thanks in advance for the email. Just send links if you want. and I don't know how I got unsubscribed, but will fix that!!!!!!

Comments are closed.