Book Review: The Kraken by China Mieville

KrakenKraken by China Miéville
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

A lot of fantasy creativity. Tons of cussing. A few twists/turns in the plot line, that made it all really interesting. I kept thinking, “This should be a movie.” It’s so very visual in its descriptions. I actually think it would work better as a movie than a book.

It also struck me as almost poetic in a lot of its descriptive passages. A very artsy book.

It didn’t entirely surprise me that, throughout the book, all religion (Christianity especially) was considered “bollocks.” Still, a bit of a double-standard in accepting/glorifying the book’s reality of supernatural powers, or “knacking.”

Overall, I’m glad I tried something new, but it wasn’t anything to write home about, in my honest opinion.

View all my reviews

