Afraid to Write. (Unless I had a Fezzik.)

Yes, me.

Once in awhile, I read a blog post by a writer, with tips on writing. Posts like this one. A post full of great advice by a real, live writer of books.

Then, I alternate between an intense desire to participate in NaNoWriMo (a.k.a. National Novel Writing Month), to try my hand at fiction, and the fact that I have not written fiction of any kind since junior high.

I do just fine at non-fiction. Essays and reports always flowed naturally when I was in school. Blogging about life, faith, and whatever else comes into my head also flows very naturally.

I honestly don’t think I’m meant to be a fiction writer of any kind.

Still, I can’t help but wonder and dream.

What if the Next Darn Good Novel is mine to write?

Or…

What if it’s the Next Great Birth Book?

Or…

What if it’s the Next Good Devotional Book?

Or…

What if it’s just What I’m Doing Now?

I would love to take a writing course. And then another one. And another one. And then write a book.

Dare I put “Be a published writer” on my bucket list?

It’s an interesting question, and one that I have never quite wrestled to the ground yet. It floats to the top of my consciousness, sits there awhile, and then sinks again in the midst of Life.

Should it stay at the bottom of my thought ocean? I don’t think so.

Still, I hesitate to move, and I wonder where the hesitation lies. Is it simple realism on my part? That I know my ability, and where it ends?

Is it fear? It could be. It likely plays a part, because of my ignorance about writing as an entity in and of itself. (Hence, the desire to take a class at some point.)

Just because I have an abundance of words, doesn’t mean I’m a writer. The amount of research, time, discipline, and outside criticism required to write something worth selling to anyone makes me think of this:

For the uninitiated, those are the Cliffs of Insanity. (“Hurry up! Move the thing! And…THAT OTHER THING!!!”)

Sorry about that. Where were we?

Oh yes – all that writing stuff looking like something completely insurmountable.

Unless I had a Fezzik.

And the Man in Black.

Boy, wouldn’t that be cool?

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

One thought on “Afraid to Write. (Unless I had a Fezzik.)

  1. Love Princess Bride!
    About writing fiction – I haven’t tried it in about ten years, and back then it was only sporadic. Lately though (since October), I’ve been writing about 500 words a day. It was so much fun constructing a story from scratch, I actually joined NaNo (on Oct. 31st, no less), and now I’m averaging about 2000 wpd. Are they good words? Not so much, but I am getting to the meat of the story, little by little. So many unexpected twists and turns have happened, and, did I mention it’s a LOT of fun? You should try it! Start small: write for a half hour a day. Restrict yourself to fiction for that time. Try it ’til the end of the year, and see if you don’t get hooked!

Comments are closed.