My Top 20 Most Re-Watchable Movies of All Time

First of all, I blatantly stole this idea from a blog WordPress featured on the Freshly Pressed page. Instead of leaving a comment there, I thought I’d try to hash out my own top 20, for the sake of 1) fun, and 2) writing something.

The only rule I gave myself was to leave out cartoons. There are simply too many with lots of re-watchability-ness, so there’s no point in including them.

Keep in mind these are not necessarily my all-time favorites – they are just the ones I can watch over and over, and never get tired of them. There are some movies that I count as amazing films, but have no desire to see again. The Sixth Sense is one of them. So, these movies are ones I turn to on a rainy day, or if I’m just in a movie mood, but don’t want to go out to get a rental.

20. Napolean Dynamite (2004)
Oh come on. You know you love it. I thought it was the stupidest waste of my time the first time I watched it. Then, I found myself quoting it and laughing hysterically. It has been re-watched many times over, and it gets funnier every time. Weird, but true.

19. The Bourne Trilogy (2002, 2004, 2007)
I can’t pick just one. If I watch one, I have to watch them all. Sometimes, I just need a little butt-kicking action at the end of the day.

18. Robin Hood: Men In Tights (1993)
This one is tied up in many, many memories. Cast parties in high school, movie nights with The Group in college, and bored stiff nights with Levi, before children. Stupid and hilarious, and highly quotable.

17. Ever After (1998)
By far, the most watchable, palatable version of the Cinderella story ever told. At least, I think so. And who could resist a quirky Leonardo Da Vinci walking on water?!

16. The Shawshank Redemption (1994)
Do I really need to explain this one? If I do, you obviously have not watched it enough. I think the scene in the library, while they’re all sorting books is one of my favorites in the movie.

15. My Big Fat Greek Wedding (2002)
Windex, baby. Windex. I don’t quite know what it is about this movie that makes me want to watch it over and over. Sometimes, it’s the physical comedy, and other times, it’s the giant contrast between the two families.

14. Dan in Real Life (2007)
“You are a MURDERER of LOOOOOOVVVE!!!!” This one has provided some of the most cuddle-inducing, laughter-bringing, sentimental moments for me, ever. And the music? Fantastic! I’ll sometimes watch this one just to hear the soundtrack.

13. Sherlock Holmes (2009)
I have a goal to learn every word of the witty banter that makes up the dialogue of this film. There is some very quotable stuff in there. Not to mention the eye candy sets and costumes. Oh – and the brilliant use of fisticuffs.

12. It’s a Wonderful Life (1946)
We don’t necessarily wait until Christmastime to watch this one. It’s got great re-watchability year-round. It’s also a guaranteed tear-jerker. I love the strong emphasis on loving and living joyfully in the mundane moments of life, and learning to be content with the life you’re given. “No man is a failure who has friends.” One of my all-time favorite quotes.

11. Dumb & Dumber (1994)
From the misspelled credits, to the absolute idiocy brilliantly portrayed, this movie never gets old. Ever. I laugh just as hard, even though I can quote most of it. “Samsonite! I was way off!”

10. Monty Python and the Holy Grail (1975)
This movie is the common ground of many friendships, going all the way back to high school. It’s the first movie I watched, that my parents just didn’t “get.” They don’t find it funny. Weirdos. I love them anyway. Not to mention, it’s what introduced me to British comedy. It doesn’t get funnier than Monty Python.

9. Julie & Julia (2009)
I love Meryl Streep. She’s amazing. I love the relationships in this movie – the ups & downs so very apparent. Situations so many of us can relate to. I love the sense of commitment in both couples. I know the screen version is an idealized version of these true stories, but I’m okay with that. I’ve always preferred idealism over realism anyway. Not to mention, I have a weakness for redheads.

8. The Sound of Music (1965)
It’s Julie Andrews. How is this NOT re-watchable? Admit it, when it comes on TV, you sit and watch, and sing along. Don’t pretend you don’t. If you really don’t like it, I have nothing more to say to you. That is all.

7. Mary Poppins (1964)
Dick Van Dyke. Julie Andrews. Magical laughing uncles, chalk picture adventures, and spoonfuls of sugar. In the words of a good friend of mine, I puffy-sparkly-heart this movie. If I could play any character, ever, it would be Mary Poppins.

6. Lord of the Rings Trilogy (2001, 2002, 2003)
These ones probably get re-watched about once a year in our house. Yes, the extended versions. Yes, all my kids have seen them. We all dream of living in a hobbit hole somewhere in Middle Earth. What’s it to you?

5. While You Were Sleeping (1995)
Romantical and funny and sweet and idealistic. This is my favorite go-to when I’m laid up sick on the couch, or if I’m feeling lonely. I heart Bill Pullman and Sandra Bullock, too. I want to sit down and have coffee with her someday. Or play her quirky best friend in some future movie. A girl can dream, right? Even at 30?

4. Pride & Prejudice (The A&E mini-series, 1995)
This is a comfort-food movie for me. I seem to watch it most on a very rainy weekend, or during the cold snaps that keep the kids and I trapped at home for days on end. The girls are falling in love with it, even at their young ages, and have played “Lizzy and Mr. Darcy” already! I can’t say I’m not delighted.

3. Sense & Sensibility (1995)
I cry every time. Every. Single. Time. The brilliant build-up of emotional tension is almost physical, and has a strong effect on me. So, when catharsis finally comes at the end, I’m bawling my eyes out! It’s the movie I watch when I need a good cry, but can’t quite get to it on my own.

2. The Princess Bride (1987)
I was six when this came out, and I have probably watched it dozens of times since I was about seven or eight. It’s a movie I’m now passing on to my kiddos, who quote it nearly as well as their father and I do.

1. Anne of Green Gables (1985)
It is utterly shameful that I do not yet own this movie. Not only is Anne Shirley my favorite book heroine of all time, she is me. I will never forget watching this movie for the first time, when I was very young, and just falling in love with every character. Except Josie Pye. She’s a Pye, after all. This movie, along with Anne of Avonlea were so very well-done and so true to the books in spirit, that they hold a place of high esteem with me. The “Continuing Story” movies that followed? Utter rubbish. I won’t even link you to them. If you’re interested, you’ll have no help from me to find them!

What are your top 20, and what do you think of mine?

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

5 thoughts on “My Top 20 Most Re-Watchable Movies of All Time

  1. were you writing a list for me? I would have to agree to almost ever one of those. Though I do like the new Pride & Prejudice. I would love to watch the mini series!

  2. Good list – half of them are on my own multiple watchings list – Clue, Young Frankenstein, Singin’ in the Rain and Some Like It Hot would be included on my list – I’ll have to think about what else makes the most-watched list.

  3. Yur list is goooood. I agree with over half of your list. I wouldn’t have so many romantic movies on my list. I’d definitely list The Truman Show, I Am Sam, The Dark Knight, and Gladiator.

  4. Oh, Tiffany! Many of mine are on this list! I would add one foreign film, Babettes’ Feast, and, OH, DO I LOVE Burton and Taylor in Taming of the Shrew! (Whoever cries at Shakespeare has seen grand acting!)
    But let me ask you something about Everafter: Have you, in your many re-runs, ever noticed the theme running like an undercurrent throughout the entire movie: shoes. If not, and if you cannot instantly replay the thing in your mind, then you ought to watch it one more time and look for shoes in it. Amazing!
    But how about Dustin Hoffman and Emma Thompkins (sp?) in Last Chance Harvey for a good cry at a wedding? And oh, how funny, and what a great classic tragi-comedy is Cruise and ZJones in Terminal!!!
    Over and over and over. 🙂

Comments are closed.