There is glory ahead.

My parents were right. Life is not fair, and often just hurts.

It gets stressful – either from a huge pile of little things, or a few gigantic, crushing things. Sometimes our pain is brought on ourselves, and resides in our heads. Sometimes, it’s very literal, physical pain that beats us down with angry swings of its giant fists. Many times, it ends up being things that, while wholesome in and of themselves, are just too much at certain times, and we crumble.

When these facts dawn on me almost daily, as I look around and see that I am not the only one struggling, I feel heavily burdened. My eyes see the varying levels and kinds of pain in the lives of my loved ones, and I hurt even more. Their pain layers itself on top of my own.

I wonder why. I cry. I write. I don’t always know what to do with all the pain involved in life, whether it’s my own or not, and often put it away for later. Then, I pray. Not necessarily impressively spiritual, wordy, knee-numbing prayers; but desperate, and often, actually wordless.

“In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express.” ~Romans 8:26 (NIV)

“Groans that words cannot express.”

That about sums it up.

I cannot help but think that those prayers are the ones that make the biggest difference, that touch the heart of God most deeply.

Not that there isn’t a place for the knee-numbing prayers, because there is. Still, as a mom of littles, it’s comforting to know that any prayer from a sincere heart reaches its destination with no hindrance.

I’m so very tired. I cannot wait for May to be over. I’m barely held together by a slim thread of these kinds of prayers, a little journaling, and snippets of Scripture grabbed as I can. I don’t think the thread is going to break, but it is certainly far more stretched than I’d like it to be.

It’s my own fault, but I carry no shame. I’ll just pick up tomorrow morning and start over.

God’s reset button doesn’t get worn out.

“Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.” ~Romans 8:1 (NIV)

I just wish I didn’t need to use it so often.

So, I groan on, letting the Holy Spirit do his thing, because he is far better at it than I. I let people around me comfort and encourage me, because their love is often an extension of God’s. I look forward to glory, instead of the prevailing gloom this side of Heaven.

“Therefore, we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.” ~2 Corinthians 4:16-18 (NIV)

My troubles are light and momentary.

Period.

They cannot steal my joy. They cannot take away my salvation. They cannot separate me from my Abba. They cannot keep me from experiencing new mercies every morning. They cannot keep me from trying to be a blessing to everyone around me. (If you ask my kids, I’m not always very good at that one, but I’m a work in progress.)

My troubles are light and momentary.

There is glory ahead.

I can live with that.

I can live with that.

Grace & Peace,
Tiffany

3 thoughts on “There is glory ahead.

  1. Thanks Tiff 🙂 It’s been a hard month for me too. (((HUGS)))

    One of the pastor’s at one of the churches we visited was preaching through Romans and was at the verse the Sunday we were there. I really enjoyed listening to God teaching me through him.

Comments are closed.