Little Things

I keep getting struck by random thoughts about little things that make me smile. Things that seem to tuck joy into semi-hidden nooks and crannies of my life. So, I think I’m going to write some of them down, in no particular order, as they come to mind.

Brightly colored roses – especially those that are vibrant with yellow, orange, or peach tones all mixed up.
Conversations over coffee.
Making a friend break out in a smile or a laugh on a rough day.
Quiet evenings at home.
Cuddling on the couch and watching good movies.
Finally earning the love of little ones who don’t belong to me. I’m patient, because the rewards are so worth it.
Eavesdropping on tree conversations.
Inside jokes.
Going to a church that feels more like going home to family.
Emoticons. 😀
Sunrises. I like them better than sunsets. Always have.
Karaoke night, and the crazy people we inevitably run into.
Having more friends than I know what to do with.
Newborn babies.
Having the house where everyone seems to like to come. It’s nice to be needed.
The sound the keyboard makes when I’m typing.
Writing in cursive.
Lace, flowers, and ruffles.
Dangly earrings.
People with twinkly eyes.
My husband loving on his kids by playing “beat-up”.
Comments people make on this blog. They’re always day-brighteners. Always.
Having friends and family I can be straight with – who WANT me to be straight with them.
An occasional soda. Cold.
Books.
Toddler mispronunciations.
Homemade anything.
The sound of running shoes hitting pavement. Especially when they’re mine.

I could keep going, but I think I’ll stop here. After all, the kids are about to be tucked in by my husband, and we’re going to enjoy an in-home date night in a few minutes. Tomorrow is going to be crazy. The older two will have their last day at the homeschool program, I have a curriculum planning meeting, and I am teaching at the pregnancy center again, starting tomorrow night.

So, I want to sit back and enjoy a relaxed, slow night. Nowhere to go, nothing to do, and my first choice for company – my husband.

What would you add to this list? Anything on this list that makes you go “huh?”

Grace and Peace,
Tiffany

3 thoughts on “Little Things

  1. Little things that make me smile:
    When E tackles me while we’re playing on the floor.
    When E explores the room and lets out little sounds of glee when she finds new things to play with.
    Trees budding in the spring
    Days where the sky is crystal blue and the mountains are in clear view.
    Moments when I open my Bible and the words speak directly to my heart.
    Unexpected words of encouragement from a friend

  2. mango trees that seem to know exactly when I am feeling like a snack
    buying plane tickets
    being on a team with my sister for a board game (we kick booty together!)

Comments are closed.