Resurrection Eggs: The Cheap Version

I have been asked by many what I put into my Resurrection Eggs. So, here is a short tutorial for you. I’d post a picture, but my camera is dead. It’s really not hard, though. So, here you go:

Rather than spending $13 on this neat idea, I searched for a tutorial to make my own.

The cost?

$2.37

I bought a dollar-store set of twelve eggs, the seven cents reflects sales tax. The other $1.30 comes from the money I place in Egg #2, and the cross charm in Egg #6. I don’t count the cost of the carton I used, since I keep stacks of them just for this kind of thing. If you want to get technical, the egg carton cost me $2.

Everything else, I found, or already had, around my home.

If you can find twelve different-colored eggs, awesome. However, you probably won’t. So, number your eggs from 1-12 with a permanent marker.

The Scriptures can be read from your Bible as each egg is opened, or you can do what I did: Type out each Scripture reference, so they’re all on a single page, then print and cut apart. Place each reference inside the corresponding egg. Older kids who can read may find this easier than tracking the small print on a Bible page.

While you’re reading, pass the item around to each person, so each one can have a chance to contemplate its meaning for themselves.

Egg #1
Materials: Cotton ball, sprayed or dipped into perfume. This represents the nard Mary poured over our Lord’s feet.
Scripture: John 12:3

Egg #2
Materials: Three dimes to represent the 30 pieces of silver paid to Judas for Jesus’ betrayal.
Scripture: Matthew 26:15b, 16

Egg #3
Materials: A small scrap of red or purple cloth – especially satin, velvet, or other luxurious-feeling cloth. I used a rich corduroy I had on hand. This represents the robe they placed on Jesus in mockery.
Scripture: Matthew 27:28

Egg #4
Materials: Small section of a thorny rose stem. The bigger the thorns, the better. This represents the crown of thorns. You can even explain that each thorn on the crown was probably as big as the section you cut, not small like rose thorns are.
Scripture: John 19:2a

Egg #5
Materials: Small section of leather cord or rough twine, with a knot at one end. I used rough twine. This represents the scourge used to beat Jesus. Explain to children who are old enough what a cat-o-nine tails was really like.
Scripture: Mark 15:15b

Egg #6
Materials: Wooden cross charm or bead. Or make your own by lashing two sticks together, or making it out of sturdy cardboard. To represent…well…the Cross.
Scripture: John 19:17

Egg #7
Materials: A large nail, to represent the spikes driven through our Lord’s hands & feet.
Scripture: John 19:18, 37

Egg #8
Materials: A die from an old board game. This represents the lots cast for Jesus’ clothing by the soldiers at the foot of the Cross.
Scripture: John 19:24

Egg #9
Materials: A small piece of sponge, to represent the wine/gall mixture offered to Jesus to drink. Explain that this was offered to help dull the pain, but that our Lord refused it.
Scripture: Matthew 27:34

Egg #10
Materials: Something to represent the spear thrust in His side. I chose to paint a toothpick brown, with a silver tip. An arrowhead or something similar would work well too.
Scripture: John 19:33, 34

Egg #11
Materials: A small, preferably roundish, rock, to represent the stone rolled in front of Jesus’ tomb.
Scripture: Matthew 28:2

Egg #12
Materials: NOTHING at all. Not even the scripture reference. An empty egg to represent the empty tomb!
Scripture: We like to read the account in John 20, straight from Scripture (I don’t believe in dumbing things down for kids) but you should choose the resurrection story that resonates most with you. They’re all slightly different, because they focus on different aspects of the story. I like John, because it shows that the first person to see Jesus alive again was Mary – a woman (in her society, less than a dog), with a terrible past, who was totally devoted. I like how it shows that Jesus chooses (and holds most dear to his heart) those whom the world sees as weak and worthless, in order to shame those the world deems especially wise. Mary was ordinary, imperfect, and precious. And I like my kids to see that. It’s my favorite of the empty tomb stories.

Gather it all together, and make an old ratty egg carton into something pretty by painting the lid a bright color, and decorating it with springy stickers.

NOTE: As much as I read about the pagan origins of Easter, as guilty as my human heart would like to feel about it (since it has the possibility of making me holier than thou art), as passionate as some I hold dear feel about it, I have no qualms celebrating the Resurrection of Jesus each year. Each year, I prayerfully consider everything I’ve read, and ask the Lord to convict where conviction is needed. I have yet to hear Him tell me “No” in this area. Until I do, my family will continue to celebrate the way we always have.

We don’t do the bunny – I’ve never liked it. We do baskets and small gifts, to celebrate the Ultimate Gift of Salvation that the whole Good Friday/Easter weekend brought to the world. I like using eggs, because they do represent new life – a new life only Jesus can give. And I like to do an egg hunt, because to find that new life, we need to sincerely seek it. To seek Jesus for ourselves. No one but Him can confer salvation on us. No one rides into Heaven on anyone’s coattails but Christ’s – and His are blood-stained.

So, yes, we celebrate Easter. I understand those who don’t, and their reasons. I respect them. I just ask for the same respect for my family. If this ever changes, you’ll be among the first to know.

Always, Tiffany

2 thoughts on “Resurrection Eggs: The Cheap Version

  1. I love the concept of Resurrections Eggs! It’s a clear memory from my childhood, and something I can’t wait to do with my little one someday!

Comments are closed.