Q: What do you want to accomplish with your blog?

A: I still have no idea.

This is the suggested topic for Post A Day 2011. Specifically:

Many blogs I see never explain to readers what the goal for the blog is, which makes it hard for people who stop by to know if they should come back. Write a post about your 3 goals for the blog, who you think the readers are, and what you’re offering them in terms of topics or themes.

I decided that it’s high time I figure out exactly why I’m blogging here, and to find out what my readers expect to see (or want to see, which could be entirely different). Do I have goals for this blog? I think I would like to, seeing how I write so much.

This blog started as a way to keep family updated on our lives, since we live so far away. It has since involved to a brain dump of sorts, without a lot of cohesiveness or order. I’ve been thinking over the last few days about my blog, and whether or not I have any goals for it. These are the three I have come up with (and are subject to change without notice, because it’s my blog, folks.)

1: To share Jesus with those who don’t know Him, and to encourage those who do, in their walk.

2: To encourage consistency in our family routine (and self-discipline in me) by writing a weekly school update. I do well with deadlines, even self-imposed ones, and I think doing this will help me keep better track of where we are.

3: To be a smile-bringer and a blessing to others as often as I can. I want my blog to be a place where people come to be lifted up and encouraged – no matter what they’re dealing with. I want to live up to the nickname my Dad gave me when I was just a baby: Sunshine. I think this picture sums it up pretty well:

Granted, those aren’t particularly concrete goals (other than the weekly writing assignments I will give myself), but they’re what comes to mind.

I really don’t think there are many readers of this blog whom I don’t personally know, and they consist of a lot of my family, my good friends, and a few acquaintances I’d like to know better. If you’ve never met me, I’d love to hear from you today in the comments! Introduce yourself, and perhaps let me know what you expect when you click over to my blog, and why you keep coming back.

What I’ve offered, mostly has to do with family, faith, and all that goes along with both. I think that’s what I’d like to stay centered on, because it’s what comes naturally to me anyway. No use trying to write about something that doesn’t, after all.

What do you think? Do you have any topics you’d like to see me write more about? Any ideas on helping me streamline this shindig? If you blog, what do you want to accomplish, if anything? Do tell!

~Tiffany

2 thoughts on “Q: What do you want to accomplish with your blog?

  1. Hi. Sorry I waited until today to comment. We had storms an Internet was wonky.
    I subscribed to your blog after reading one post on tagsurfer, several weeks ago. I have not been disappointed. I think I come here to get some of that sunshine. šŸ™‚

  2. Hi, I just found your blog today through another homeschool blog. The title intrigued me since I don’t really know what I want to “accomplish” with my blog! Like you, I like to update family that lives far and keep myself accountable but….it’s just fun!
    You gave me something to think about!

    And who doesn’t love sunshine in a blog? šŸ™‚

Comments are closed.