Thankful Thursday: The “I’m a girl” edition.

How many Thursdays has it been, anyway? No wonder I’ve been stressing a bit – I haven’t been walking in gratitude. I really am a better person when I keep my eye out for things to be thankful for on the following Thursday. I also find myself having to limit my list, so as not to bore you with the mediocrity of the multiple mundane mercies bestowed upon me. (Alliteration is one of them! I love it.)

This week, a theme presented itself to me, seeing as how being a girl has taken center stage for about a week. Ahem. So, without further ado, and in no particular order, may I present:

The “I’m a girl” edition of Thankful Thursday!

I am thankful to be a girl because…

…ruffles are so cute.

…I got to experience pregnancy, birth, and breastfeeding.

…I don’t have to try to understand other girls. It mostly just comes naturally, and if it doesn’t, we have a way of helping each other understand.

…a brownie in each hand constitutes a balanced diet.

…I can still wear bows if I want to.

…having a good cry, “just because,” seems to be our exclusive territory. And only girls really seem to appreciate the beauty and catharsis of a good cry.

…girlfriends are better than any other kind of friend I’ve ever met. (No offense, guys, honest!)

…we’re the only ones who can respectably use a pink hammer.

…even when we’re wearing sweats and a ponytail, and are make-up-less, our husbands think we’re hot stuff.

…my feet are cute. I have yet to meet a guy with cute feet.

…I will never outgrow tea parties.

…there are such things as “girl dates.” I love that.

…it’s acceptable to get lost in conversation when we only meant to “stop in for a minute.”

…it’s so easy to overlook the flaws in our friends, and to rally around them, in order to bring them out of a slump.

…girls get to be pretty.

…of our ability to bring in half the groceries in one trip.

…we get to play with make-up whenever we want.

Granted, there are some distinct disadvantages to being a girl, but I can handle those reasonably well. Most of the time, being a girl is simply fantastic! I think I’m pretty happy with my girl status overall.

Girls: What do you like about being a girl? Guys: What do you like about your girl?

Be thankful today!

~Tiffany

7 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday: The “I’m a girl” edition.

  1. Toenail polish with additional nail art, such as flowers! And the knowledge that we can unashamedly snuggle up to each other or link arms.

  2. As a girl, I am not expected to know the ins and outs of my car’s engine. Phrases like “that thing, with the thing, that does that thing” are perfectly acceptable to my mechanic.

    We also (clearly) have the best selection when it comes to wardrobe.

    It’s also nice to go to a salon and have someone else wash your hair.

    Really it’s the little things!

  3. I love getting to wear pretty skirts and dresses all summer!
    I love that there are such things as scrapbooking conventions!
    I love how God built into us the ability to love and mother!
    I love how I can unashamedly cry at a commericials on tv!
    I love the romantic, emotional nature God has created in me (sometimes this can get in the way, but we’re looking for positive things here).
    I love being a princess!

  4. I love being able to have a protector, I loved being able to dream for years about the perfect man and perfect wedding, (along with numerous journal pages marked with “Mrs. Raychel Miller”) and finally have them both. I love dreaming about being a mother someday.
    I love being able to dress in pretty colors, have cute shoes and jewelry. I love sleepovers, and half heart necklaces that say “BFF”.

  5. These are all great! I really enjoyed your responses, and have to add a hearty “YES, ME TOO!” to each of them. Thank you so much for responding.

Comments are closed.