Blessed to be his.

Wow, I have a lot of posts in my head at the moment (and a few in my drafts section to finish). So much for keeping up with the Post a Day Challenge! It’s amazing how a small difference in routine can shove so many areas of my life to the back burners, where things tend to simmer for too long a time. I have missed writing these past several days, and can’t wait to share so much of what I’ve been pondering and doing.

Today’s post is about none of that, though. Today’s post is just about my nearly-empty romance tank, and how my husband managed to fill it to over-flowing yesterday.

Yesterday was our tenth anniversary. (That’s two whole hands, in toddler-speak!) A little back story…

Levi is not a traditionally romantic man, but he married a traditionally romantic woman. Early on, this didn’t bother me, as our premarital counselors taught me to learn to look for the things outside the traditional romantic box. This attitude has lasted me quite a long time, with blips here and there of longing for just a little of the old-fashioned stuff. Over the years, Levi has grown quite an ability to surprise me in little ways that keep that little flame of romance alive, even if it’s not a blazing bonfire. We’ve had a lovely, bumpy, give-and-take, high-and-low love relationship, in which I have never had reason to doubt how much he really loves me.

Well, he threw several logs on the fire for our tenth anniversary, and things are blazing again, baby! Ahem.

My sister, Jen, had purchased a vacation package a few years back that allowed her to take advantage of some deep discounts on cruises and other vacations. Since she’s not using them, she offered a Caribbean cruise to us! We’ll be paying far less than we would if we went another route. Our trip is booked for June, because of booking deadlines. So, we agreed to just do small gifts for each other, and maybe a normal date if we could.

Yesterday morning started out like any other Wednesday. We all breakfasted together, and Levi and I exchanged gifts. He had chosen a beautiful necklace for me, and a pretty picture frame for our newest couple photo, taken last fall. I was delighted, and felt a little silly giving him a stack of movies he’s been wanting. He is so easy to please, though, and was really happy about his gift, too. Whew! (Gifts are not something I’m particularly good at.)

As he was leaving for work, he asked me what we were going to do, and I told him we’d just be doing school and housework. I had no idea why he was asking. Turns out, he just wanted to make sure he didn’t have to come up with a reason to make me stay home.

At about 5:30, we had finally finished school (we start at about two o’clock, normally), and I had sat down to enjoy a quick break before fixing dinner. Before I could even do anything, the doorbell rang. I sighed. I was annoyed. After all, my “no soliciting” sign had blown away again.

It was Levi at the door.

In a brand-new suit and tie.

With white roses in hand.

For me.

“Happy Anniversary,” he said, and handed me the roses.

Dumb-founded, I took them and inhaled deeply. Then I started to cry, and Levi took me in his arms and kissed me.

He told me to get ready, that a dear friend, Evie, would be coming over to watch the kids, and I needed to think about where we wanted to go for dinner.

Flabbergasted, I complied. My brain no longer functioned properly.

I have never been so surprised in my life!

I cut my flowers and put them in a vase, and tried to find a nice dress. The only ones I have are now a little too big, since I’ve lost about eighteen pounds over the last few months. Evie came to my rescue, and pinned me into one, though.

We took a picture or two, then off we went to the Sunbird Restaurant – a little place perched high on a hill, overlooking the city. A place I have always wanted to go to, even though I knew nothing about it except its location. Turns out it was a perfect choice!

The view was lovely, and only got better as the sun set and the sky darkened. Old jazz music played quietly over the sound system, and the song we danced to at our wedding reception came on during our meal!

Our conversation, the atmosphere, our dressed-up state, and even the food, just made everything so incredibly special, and reminded me, all over again, of the reasons I married Levi. Spending ten years as this man’s wife has been my greatest adventure, challenge, joy, and satisfaction in life. Second only to being the bride of Christ. Yesterday brought up so many precious “rememberies”.

If I could do life all over again, I would marry him again – not because of romance or passion or even affection. I would marry him all over again because it would be stupid not to!

His character, made up of black-and-white honesty, deep loyalty, and a truly unconditional love for me are impossible to resist. Even if he is flawed (and he is), he is the real deal. I am blessed to be his.

And now, I am rambling.

After dinner, we decided to go see what movies were playing, since Evie had commanded us to stay out late, and it was only nine o’clock. We are such fuddy-duddies, that we would have been happy going home and crawling into bed! Battle:Los Angeles was our choice, and we thoroughly enjoyed it. It was everything we expected it to be: a very “Independence-Day-esque” film of battling aliens, close calls, rousing (slightly melo-dramatic) speeches, and dirty faces.

We came home late, and sent Evie home to her family.

I fell asleep next to a man who may steal covers and snore, but who really does know how to sweep me off my feet.

Even if there are years in between feet-sweeping instances.

“But Ruth replied, “Don’t urge me to leave you or to turn back from you. Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God. 17 Where you die I will die, and there I will be buried. May the LORD deal with me, be it ever so severely, if anything but death separates you and me.” ~Ruth 1:16-17 (NIV)

These words were part of my vows to Levi when we married. They still stand, strengthened by years of testing. I say them again now, with more conviction than I did at age 19, when we married. And I will say them again, year after year, for as long as God gives me breath.

~Tiffany

5 thoughts on “Blessed to be his.

  1. Sounds like the perfect night! So happy for you guys! Can’t wait to watch the kids again for you. You guys deserve it. Love you. 🙂

  2. Wow. You had me sniffing and mopping my face until you got to Ruth, when I openly squalled. Thanks for this blessing of a post of such a private and special moment.
    May God bless your next ten years abundantly! You are just what the world needs more of. Much more.

  3. Thank you for sharing. I have tears in my eyes as I write this. It’s so beautiful to read someone’s love story. I’m cheering for you and the wonderful memory that was made! What a testimony you two have!

    When I fell in love, I found that the romantic stories I read growing up (and these were Christian romances mind you) did little to prepare me for what a real, lasting love would be like. The everyday is so different. If I’m not looking for it, it will pass me by. But then I think about how my little girl slept on her papa during our plane ride yesterday, the cup of coffee that often greets me in the morning, and the way my husband still plays Scrabble with me, even though he knows I’ll win, and I know that there’s no one else I would rather spend my life with!

Comments are closed.