Writer’s Block? Or: Something More?

There is something stirring within me. I have been grappling with a case of writer’s block unlike any other I’ve ever had. I have a strong urge to write, but when I sit down at the keyboard, my fingers are still. My mind and my heart are not.

It’s not that I have nothing to write about. It’s more like a strong feeling that I have something important to write about, and that I can’t write a word until I write about that something.

“What is it, Lord?” my heart cries.

I know it has something to do with Him.

So, I wait, and try to ready myself to hear His Voice. I wait, half-dreading what He’ll ask of me, though I know it will be something He’s already equipped me for.

I wait, wondering.

I wait, seeking to obey, without looking too far ahead.

I write this post in anticipation, not knowing how long the wait will be.

I wait, hoping that, in the meantime, anything that fills this little corner of the internet is worth the time it takes me to type it, and the time it takes you to read it.

I hesitate to really give voice to my anticipation of the bigness of what I’m waiting for. I hesitate to share the feeling in my bones that God is moving in a way I have yet to see in my lifetime. That He has a task for me. I have a strong sense of what that task will be, but still, I wait for the order to move.

I wait, and this verse mirrors the prayer I find myself uttering so much lately:

“Yes, LORD, walking in the way of your laws, we wait for you; your name and renown are the desire of our hearts. My soul yearns for you in the night; in the morning my spirit longs for you.” ~Isaiah 26:8-9 (NIV)

Thanks for waiting with me. While you wait – pray for me, please.

~Tiffany

One thought on “Writer’s Block? Or: Something More?

Comments are closed.