This, I Know.

Dinner is in the oven. Tischel is napping in the next room. The kiddos are at the park with their daddy on this gorgeous, 70-plus degree day. I have at least 40 minutes to myself to sit and write.

I wanted, very much, to write a Monday School post today, but the whole day has been so “up-and-at-em” that I haven’t even gotten to digest yesterday’s sermon for myself yet. It was good. It was like sitting down at a feast of fat things after having nothing but gruel for weeks. Spiritually speaking, I’m fat and happy. However, non-Sunday days have a way of burning off all those delightful calories far too quickly. I’ll be starving again by tomorrow morning, at the latest.

The question is: Will I have enough discipline to do something about it?

Yikes.

I guess you’ll find out tomorrow.

Gruel doesn’t cut it. I need steak and potatoes, and they’ll have to be cooked from scratch, with no recipe.

It’s a good thing I know right where to look to get the best quality.

“He humbled you, causing you to hunger and then feeding you with manna, which neither you nor your fathers had known, to teach you that man does not live on bread alone but on every word that comes from the mouth of the LORD.” ~Deuteronomy 8:3 (NIV)

God is so very, very good.

I had no idea what I was going to sit down and write today, but this is what came out. He’s reminding me of what He’s asking me to do. To meet with him each day. One day at a time. I’m not going to look farther down the road than that for now. For now, I’m just looking at what is next on the list.

No grand claims or goals of “making it a whole year,” or even a whole week. I look that far ahead, and I doubt. I assume that I will fail. What a horrible way to live!

I’m asking for my daily bread. Today’s bread, alone. I can manage today. Tomorrow has enough trouble of its own. So, I’m not going to worry about it.

“So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” ~Matthew 6:31-34 (NIV – click HERE for context.)

As my Mom likes to say so often: “God is already in tomorrow. He’s already there, waiting for me. What do I have to worry about?”

I like that.

I arrive in Tomorrow at the same rate as anyone else. Twenty-four hours at a time. Why do I tend to rush into it ahead of its time? After all, it’s easy to completely lose sight of the present trial, here in my hands, at this very moment. It’s only the present trial I’m asked to face. It’s the only one I can actually impact.

Choices happen now. Not yesterday. Not tomorrow. Now.

“But if serving the LORD seems undesirable to you, then choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your forefathers served beyond the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you are living. But as for me and my household, we will serve the LORD.” ~Joshua 24:15 (NIV- emphasis mine)

Ditto, Joshua.

I do choose, this day, to serve the LORD, in whatever way He asks me. Tomorrow will come in its own good time, if God wills it. My life, my breath, my very being is in His hand. And I love Him so. He’s called me to a simple act of obedience, and my spirit is willing. My flesh is weak, but in that weakness, God will show His strength.

This, I know.

Mmmmm…my manicotti is really filling this home with the most delicious smell! I can’t wait for the kids and my hubby to come home to such an inviting aroma. I just pray that the fragrance of my spirit is one like it. Not necessarily manicotti, of course. I just want to smell like Jesus: to be surrounded by an sweet-smelling incense of love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control radiating from the place inside me where He lives.

I’m working on it. How about you?

~Tiffany

