Day 17: Deep Impact

Today’s topic in the photo challenge is to share a picture of something that has made a big impact on me recently. While my pastor and his wife are not “things,” they are what came to mind immediately. Technically, if I want to be precise, it’s the Word of God that has made the impact. However, it’s the Word of God spoken through the mouths and lives of this couple that has impacted me deeply lately.

I won’t go into detail, as the Holy Spirit and I are still hammering those out between us – and by that I mean “He’s speaking, and I’m trying to get the house quiet enough for me to hear what He’s saying”.

These two walk the talk. They practice what they preach.

Pastor Jim’s words challenge me simply because he speaks the Truth. No varnish, whatsoever. And sometimes, it galls and hurts and makes me uncomfortable. Then, when I let go, and listen, I find that I am set free by that uncomfortable Truth. And when Kathy speaks into my life, I can see in her face that she’s been where I am. That she gets it. That she knows that what she’s saying to me shakes me to my core, but she says it anyway, because she loves me too much not to.

My pastor and his wife know my name, but not much beyond that, but it is obvious that they love me. And that their love for me (and everyone else in their little flock) is the foundation of everything they say and do.

It’s hard NOT to be majorly impacted by that fierce combination of Love and Truth, tempered with Grace and Humility.

I thank God for them. Pastor – if you get a chance to read this, I want you to know that God is using you. I don’t know how often you get to hear that your words and what you teach from the pulpit matters. So I’m saying it now. Kathy, your life and walk matter to this young housewife. I love you both dearly, and only wish I could know you better.

I pray for this dear couple as often as I can. They are so good at what they do, that I cannot believe the Enemy will just let them alone. They carry so much, and I hope I can lessen their load, even a little, by my small prayers.

What or who impacts you?

~Tiffany

2 thoughts on “Day 17: Deep Impact

Comments are closed.