Day 14: Who am I without them?

I cannot imagine my life without my kids. They don’t know it, but I have learned more about myself – my TRUE self – since I birthed them. I thought I was “me” before I had kids. Not true. I am even more “me” than I ever was before I had them. Kids ask so much more of my character, my time, my emotions, my very being than anything or anyone ever has. Seeing my own weaknesses and strengths in these little people, has been like looking into the clearest mirror. Every flaw, every beauty fully revealed in all its nakedness.

There is nothing more humbling or more challenging than raising children. The glorious mix of agony and ecstasy that defines being a mother is actually undefinable. And I cannot imagine my life without them.

This was today’s topic in the 30-Day-Photo-Challenge.

I was going to post a picture of Jesus, as he is the ultimate answer to this question, but I didn’t want to be that obvious. Still, He is an integral part of why I cannot imagine my life without my kids. It is He who made me a Mother. It is He who guides and directs me daily through the quagmires and meadows of parenting. It is He who defines my whole family and life. I could not navigate this life as a Mother without Him.

What about you? Is there anyone you can’t imagine your life without?

~Tiffany

