Thankful Thursday

Today, I am thankful just to have survived two days in a row with eight children under the age of seven in my home. The days were far from bad ones – just a little noisier and a lot more chaotic in general.

I’m thankful for the sweet burden of prayer one precious little boy has laid on my heart over the last couple of days. A genuine prayer, stemming from compassion and hope, for a prodigal to return.

I’m thankful for the innocence and bright-eyed joy that has filled my home.

I’m thankful for new little readers, and the confidence I see growing in them, one word at a time.

I am thankful for midwives, and the work they do.

I am thankful for the doulas I am getting to know more and more. Such incredible women.

I’m thankful for how easy homemade mac n’ cheese is to make in big batches.

I’m thankful for the gorgeous green of lightly steamed peas.

I’m thankful for my camera.

I’m thankful for all the snot, spit-up, dirt, and miscellaneous food on my shirt. It just means I’ve been loved on and needed by lots of little ones. Who cares if the house went to crap yesterday and today? I really did try to keep up. Not possible, though.

I’m thankful for the light praise station playing really calming, quiet music at this time of night, which encourages these three little sparrows to wait a little more patiently for their Daddy to come get them.

I’m thankful my calendar was clear, since their momma got stuck in New York while she was there on business. It means I get to be a blessing to a very dear friend, whose children are very special kiddos in my life.

I’m thankful for YOU, who keep coming back, despite my inconsistent writing habits. You are lovely folks. 🙂

Visit Lynn at Spiritually Unequal Marriage if you would like to participate this month.

What are you thankful for this week?

~Tiffany

