A Little Bit of Nothing Much

Once again, my world is blanketed in snow. It’s just the right kind of day for curling up with a quilt, a good book, and my coffee. However, it is not to be.

Tonight is the first week of a four-week childbirth class I’ll be teaching at the local pregnancy center. So, I’ll be spending my day getting everything ready to teach tonight. It’s a much smaller group this time, and I am planning much more interaction than the last time that I taught. With limited materials, I have to get a little creative, but I know I can do it.

I spent about fifteen minutes in conversation with one of my students on the phone yesterday. Once again, I find myself surprised to find a woman thanking me for telling her that she didn’t have to submit to a prenatal vaginal exam if she didn’t want to. “They can’t make me do it, you mean?” she asked fearfully. I reminded her that anywhere else, that would be considered assault, and told her that the doctor was VERY unlikely to try to MAKE her to do anything at this particular hospital. She left the conversation reassured and empowered just a little – and class hasn’t even started yet!

She sounded so fearful on the phone, so I made it a point to tell her that the whole goal of my class will be to give her all the information she needs to make sound decisions, and to use knowledge to eliminate any fears she may have. I could hear the relief in her voice. I think this young woman is going to be a blessing to have in my class. She’s eager for information, and seems genuinely happy to be coming to the class! I cannot wait to meet her in person.

Tonight, while I am teaching, my husband and my oldest boy will be enjoying themselves at their first NBA game, ever. Thanks to my parents, who sent the tickets as a Christmas gift. I’m just praying the weather isn’t worse up north than it is here. I will make sure I send the camera, so I can share a picture or two with you tomorrow.

In the meantime, I really have nothing I feel compelled to write about. So, here, enjoy a quote that I stole from my good friend’s facebook page. It pretty much sums up my goal in life.

What do you have planned this week that you’re looking forward to?

Be blessed today, and find a way to make someone smile.

~Tiffany

One thought on “A Little Bit of Nothing Much

  1. Today I will be working more on cloth diapers for my sweet sisters-in-law and probably throw in some training time for our quarterly training requirements for the adoption through the state. I really do enjoy working on diapers! It’s become an outlet for me. I hope I get a few more orders after I’m done with these….just to keep me busy!

Comments are closed.