Topic 16: What is your favorite magazine, book and poem?

I’ve put this topic off for a bit, because I have no idea how to answer the first part. I could use the Christian default, and say “the Bible,” but that would be cheating. Even though it really is my favorite book, seeing as how it’s the only book that actually seems to know me, I kind of feel like it would be the easy way out to list it.

Favorite book? Just one?

I don’t have just one favorite book. I have favorites in a few genres. Well, this is my blog, after all, and since I don’t have a favorite magazine (I rarely read one), you’ll get a list of favorites.

Historical Fiction:
Anne of Green Gables series by L.M. Montgomery. (Anne and I are one and the same, you know.)
A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
Persuasion by Jane Austen

Science Fiction:
Contact by Carl Sagan
1984 by George Orwell
War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells

Children’s Books:
The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis

Fantasy:
The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien, along with all of his “Middle Earth” literature. I have yet to come across any fantasy stories I think are worth reading at all.

Thriller/Suspense:
The Oath by Frank Peretti

Christian Fiction:
This Present Darkness and Piercing the Darkness by Frank Peretti
And the Shofar Blew by Francine Rivers
The Atonement Child by Francine Rivers
The Great Divorce by C.S. Lewis
The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis

Non-Fiction: (a genre I am admittedly lacking in)
Seabiscuit by Laura Hillenbrand
Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis
The Weight of Glory by C.S. Lewis

Birth Junkie:
The Thinking Woman’s Guide to a Better Birth by Henci Goer
The Official Lamaze Guide: Giving Birth with Confidence by Judith Lothian and Charlotte De Vries
I have a very long list of books I want to read in this category…sigh…these are the favorites of the ones I’ve read thus far.

I told you. Lots of favorites.

On a side note, I know there are a lot of good books out there, outside the classic authors. I just have a hard time going to the library, and picking a book at random off of the shelf to try. Online reviews are useless, as they always conflict. I prefer recommendations from people I know, and who know my taste.

If I’m going to read a book, I want to know that it has a decent chance of being worth my time.

So, if you have any recommendations, especially in the science fiction, non-fiction, or fantasy genres, that would be great! Also, I’m not very familiar with newer authors, so any newer books out there you think worth reading would be welcome recommendations as well.

If I were to read magazines, they would probably be something like National Geographic, because I am a nerd. Maybe even decorating magazines.

On to the last part of the question:

My favorite poem? By far, I love Robert Louis Stevenson’s “The Swing.”

How do you like to go up in a swing,
Up in the air so blue?
Oh, I do think it the pleasantest thing
Ever a child can do!

Up in the air and over the wall,
Till I can see so wide,
River and trees and cattle and all
Over the countryside–

Till I look down on the garden green,
Down on the roof so brown–
Up in the air I go flying again,
Up in the air and down!

What are your favorites? Any reading recommendations for me? Thanks for leaving your two cents (or more)!

~Tiffany

This topic is from the 30 More post by my friend, Erica. This is also my post for the day for the WordPress Post a Day Challenge. Would you like to join? Sign up for the Post a Day/Week HERE.

4 thoughts on “Topic 16: What is your favorite magazine, book and poem?

  1. Fantasy is my favorite Genre strangely. I do not know if you would like them but one of my favorite Authors is Robin McKinley (Beauty and Chalice are good) Her books are very fairy tale turned fantasy.

  2. Robin mcKinley does have great books! House by Frank Peretti and Ted Dekkar is an awesome thriller. And Orson Scott Card writes great fantasy/sci-fi books. Enders Game is a great start but my personal favourite is Xenocide. If you ever get a chance Joanne Fluke writes amazing mystery books with yummy recipes in them. I know it sounds weird but check it out. Some good titles from her are the Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder and Lemon Meringue Pie Murder. I just got the new one called the Plum Pudding Murder and as soon as I finish it, I would be more than willing to lend it to you. Princess Bride is always a good relaxing read. Diary of a Wimpy Kid is a great kids book. Mike and laugh until we cry whenever we read that. Bad Drivers Handbook and Zombie Survival Guide are hilarious as well. Out is a great Japanese thriller/ mystery book but it is pretty graphic so definitely not for the squeamish. Handmaidens Tale is a good fiction book but once again, not for the squeamish. Man, the list goes on and on…

  3. If you really like “Atonement Child,” then I think you would also like “Leota’s Garden,” also by Francine Rivers. I love her books… Redeeming Love is my top favorite. As far as Sci-Fi goes, I recently read Frank Herbert’s “Dune” and enjoyed it. Not enough to continue reading the series, but it was a well done book. Most of my non-fiction reading centers around biographies (which I love, other people’s lives fascinate me) and child development books (particularly Piaget or anything about cognitive functioning.) So there are a few suggestions for you =)

  4. Here’s a random book for you, if you want something to read purely for entertainment. “Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister” by Gregory McGuire is pretty great. The story of Cinderella from another point of view. (I actually like all of Gregory McGuire’s books. Fractured fairy tales are my favorite stories. Familiar, and yet, not.

Comments are closed.