Smiling Comes Easy Here

This month is going to be a hectic one. On the agenda, we have everything from homeschooling starting back up (for which I am only minimally prepared), to Girl Scout cookie sales, to my teaching at the pregnancy center again, with lots in between! I really dislike being a busy person, but with four kids, it’s not possible to avoid busyness. However, it is possible to be busy only with things that really matter.

Things that tug the corners of my mouth upward.

Things like…

…Levi deciding to use the NBA tickets Papa sent to take Durin to a game, instead of me. I cannot go, since I’ll be teaching that night. I could see it on Levi’s face when I suggested he take Durin, that he couldn’t think of anyone else he’d rather go with!

…Levi telling me he’d rather get a refund on the NBA tickets than go without me, before Durin’s name came up. A wife loves to be her husband’s first choice. (Guys – take note – If you want to go fishing, ask your wife to go first, and if she’s willing, leave the guys behind. Not every time of course, but make her feel like she counts as your very best buddy.)

…A little red-headed snippet of a girl laying her head in my lap on the couch, settling down, and informing me that it’s okay for me to tickle her now.

…My pretty little kindergarten girl all buttoned up in her red, hand-me-down pea coat.

…A little long-lashed, brown-eyed, bed-headed boy holding out his unmarked, but sore, finger and telling me he needs a “band-and-aid.”

…Sipping hot coffee and writing while kiddos play just down the hall.

…Crossing things off of my to-do list, even if it’s only a few things out of what feels like a million.

…Seeing any of my kids conquer a new puzzle for the first time.

…Sitting at our school table, learning together.

…Teaching. Any kind of teaching. Whether I’m teaching pregnant pairs or my own children, I love facilitating discussion and learning.

…Bible verses that just reach out and grab me when I’m reading, just at the right moment. Whether I need conviction, encouragement, or to learn some Truth more fully, the Bible never fails to be that “two-edged sword.”

…The smell of dead fir wafting through the house from all the Christmas Tree needles the day we take it down. I’m always reluctant to vacuum, I love the smell so much.

…My friends gathering around me in a network of support, advice, and encouragement, no matter what.

…These same friends’ willingness to gently rebuke me when I’m in the wrong, but can’t see it. Iron sharpening iron, in the best possible way.

…Quotes of all kinds, from all kinds of people. Like little, tangible drops of wisdom in the ocean of history.

…Clear, sunny, snowy days. Well-sprinkled with cups of hot chocolate and marshmallows.

…Babies. I’m a sucker for babies.

…Pregnant bellies waddling through stores. I know I’ve gotten funny looks from people because I can’t help but grin in awe and affection at every pregnant woman I see!

…Getting real mail. Nothing like a scribbled note or Christmas card from a far-off loved one to put a smile on my face.

Smiling really does come easy here. In fact, it really can’t be helped, and I am so glad there are so many things to smile about in my little corner of the world. Sometimes, all it takes to help me perk up on a blah day is a smile at something small.

What about you? What things in your life make you smile?

This was today’s Post A Day Topic for the WordPress Challenge. Would you like to join? Sign up for the Post a Day/Week HERE.

2 thoughts on “Smiling Comes Easy Here

  1. Pingback: Lucky Just To Linger In Your Light « stories in my pocket

Comments are closed.