They Get It.

Every year, when I set up our little Nativity set for Christmas, I tend to set it up in a pretty conventional, stage-like way – all the figures facing forward. This year, I let Durin and Lydia take turns rearranging it everyday. No matter what either of them do, I find it is merely a variation on this:

All figures facing the Baby.

I smile every time I walk past it, knowing that my kids get it. They understand what this season, this day, is all about. Yes, there are gifts, stockings, a tree, music, lights and whatnot, but it all pales to Glory’s advent.

“For to us a child is born, to us a son is given,
and the government will be on his shoulders.
And he will be called Wonderful Counselor,
Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

Of the increase of his government and peace there will be no end.
He will reign on David’s throne and over his kingdom,
establishing and upholding it with justice and righteousness
from that time on and forever.
The zeal of the LORD Almighty will accomplish this.”
~Isaiah 9:6-7 (NIV – emphasis mine)

Merry Christmas – and may you know the Joy that only the Prince of Peace can bring.

