Topic 13: The Best Advice

Today’s topic asks me to pass on the best piece of advice I have ever been given. I’ve been given so much good advice in my life, that it took me awhile to think of one single piece that stands out above any other. Well, I’ve decided that I can’t really do that, so here’s a list of a lot good pieces of advice I’ve gotten, and am trying to follow, over my short thirty years:

  • Follow your heart, but make sure to use your head while you’re doing it. ~My Dad
  • Men don’t take hints – spell out clearly what you need from him, and he’ll be much more likely to do it for you. ~Ginger Lacy, half of our premarital counseling mentor couple.
  • Keep your eyes on Jesus, no matter what, because if you do, it’s difficult to be dragged down by your circumstances, no matter how bad they are.
  • Choose joy. ~The Bible
  • Give thanks, with a grateful heart, in all things. ~The Bible
  • Choose your battles. Not everything is worth fighting about. ~My Mom
  • Drop the “Us vs. Them” mentality towards your kids. You’re on the same side. ~Gentle Parenting literature
  • Indulge once in awhile.
  • Diet has a lot more to do with overall health than nearly anything else. All the exercise in the world won’t do a lot of good if you are filling your body with garbage. ~My midwives
  • Good enough is often good enough. Perfection in this life is an illusion.
  • Breastfeed your babies – for all kinds of reasons. ~My midwives
  • Self-help literature, for the most part, is overrated.
  • “Remember, you are not managing an inconvenience; you are raising a human being” ~Kittie Franz
  • Give yourself grace. God does.
  • Forgive. There is nothing more important in life than to forgive, over and over again. ~Peggy, my MIL
  • Being humble doesn’t mean thinking badly about yourself. It means that you see yourself accurately, and can take just as much joy in the gifts and talents of others as you do in your own. ~CS Lewis paraphrased
  • Take time to play once in awhile. ~Other moms
  • Trust birth. It works dang well 90% of the time. For that other 10%? Thank God for cesareans. ~The natural birth community.
  • Life is not fair. Get used to it. ~My Mom.
  • It’s okay to question what you’ve been taught. How else do you find answers? ~My Dad
  • Worship music in the background really is a panacea for nearly every foul mood. ~My own experience
  • This too, shall pass. ~My Mom
  • Be your kids’ mom, and your husband’s girlfriend. ~Dr. Laura
  • Show your husband sincere respect. He needs that as much as he needs air, and as much as you need love. ~Love & Respect by Dr. Emerson Eggrich
  • Smile more.
  • Grey hair is a crown of wisdom. (I take that to mean “age gracefully”). ~The Bible
  • Respect the elderly. ~My parents
  • Live within your means. Avoid using debt whenever you can. ~My Parents & Dave Ramsey
  • Pray continually. ~The Bible

I could keep going, as these keep just popping into my head. However, I’ll stop here.

Have anything to add? Leave a comment, and share your wisdom!

5 thoughts on “Topic 13: The Best Advice

  1. 1) Don’t let the sun go down on your anger
    2) Your relationship should be shaped like a pyramid, with both of you moving up toward God and closer together in the process-premarital counseling.
    3) Enjoy even the hard days, they go by too fast- my mom on child rearing.

    I’m sure there’s more, but that’s all my morning brain can come up with at the moment:)

    • Oh yeah! Don’t let the sun go down…

      Thanks for sharing! Your morning brain is pretty good. πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.