You’re Here

“You could have left us on our own, but you’re here.”

Once again, I find myself having put Christmas preparations off for far too long – what little shopping I need to do, making gifts, Christmas cards, decorating, and more. There are so many things I wanted to do this year, that simply will not get done. Again.

I wanted to do a Jesse Tree Advent with the kids this year, but we would be so far behind, that I’m not really sure if I should start it at all. What do you think?

I have so much to think about and plan, even beyond what I’ve already mentioned, and I’m kerflummoxed enough that I don’t really know where to begin just now. (And we tend to keep things a lot simpler than most!) I suppose a trusty ol’ List will have to do for now. And prayer. Lots of prayer.

After all, how can I forget that Christmas isn’t about the gifts I give. It’s about the Great Gift. The Gift that God gave to us – His Son. Jesus. Emmanuel, God with us.

I am not on my own as I try to navigate Christmastime in the wake of my procrastination and disorganization. God is with me. Here, now, today, He is with me.

“You could have left us on our own, but you’re here.”

This year, I’m just going to try my best to let everything else fall away, while Emmanuel takes his rightful place in my home once again. This year, good enough is going to have to be good enough, because He’s here. What else could possibly matter in comparison?

What helps you get through when you’ve put things off too long?

