Thankful Thursday: A Long-Winded One. (Like that’s anything new.)

I missed doing this post last week. I’m not entirely sure why, but I know that the last week has been a hard one for me. I dealt with some flu-ish feelings, too many late nights, and kids who seemed determine to tread on my last nerve.

I allowed myself to stop being thankful. That is not a good place to be, my friends, trust me. So, this morning, when I realized that it’s Thursday again, I determined to stop and think thankful thoughts. (I love alliteration.)

This week, I can be thankful for…

…the rest my body forced on me the other day, due to the afore-mentioned flu-like feelings and lack of sleep. I was able to nap for a total of three hours!

…my husband pitching in and taking care of things while he let me drool away on the couch.

…my sister seeing my need, even in my bad attitude last night, and helping me out. Not to mention her words of appreciation for me. Words like that go such a long way with me, right to my very heart. (Okay – seeing that in black-and-white just reinforced the importance of thanking my God and King. If words of appreciation affect me this way, how much more must he take joy in my appreciation of Him?)

…my friend, Evie, who went more than the extra mile to help me with my yard sale.

…my husband’s cousin getting closer to solving the mystery of why he has started having seizures.

…my brother-in-law’s upcoming wedding to a lovely girl whom I can’t wait to call “Sister.” (Love you, Raychel!)

…Jesus Christ, and his unconditional acceptance of whatever little I can offer in worship at any given moment – no matter how small or imperfect it is.

…Peppermint Mocha CoffeeMate.

…the privilege I have to teach my children. Even on our worst school days, that is my favorite part of the day. There’s something about being surrounded by little faces, so eager to learn and to try new things, looking to me for guidance and training. Talk about accountability. Not to mention the joy of getting to be the one who sees the light bulb go on when they master something.

I was recently asked why I don’t just make it easier on myself and send them to school. Believe me, there are days I want to! My answer surprised even me. Without even thinking about it, I said, “I’m just not ready to give them up for eight hours a day yet.” That day may come someday, but it hasn’t yet. I’ve come to realize that I’ve slowly grown into this “teacher” role, and that I love it. I really, really love it.

I’m still not always great at it. For example: Thanksgiving is NEXT WEEK, and I haven’t done anything to prepare the kids. I’ve looked online for some resources and activities, and bookmarked a few, but haven’t done any yet. However, instead of beating myself up about it, like I did last year, I just decided to focus on my strengths. My consistency is better, and we are doing all of our core curriculum nearly everyday. I’m also good at making up for the days we do miss, so we’re within about two weeks of where I wanted to be at the beginning of the year. That’s pretty dang good, I think.

…my parents and my nephew coming out TOMORROW to spend an entire week with us for Thanksgiving. This is bittersweet though, because the only person missing will be Trina. It kills me that I can’t afford to just buy her a plane ticket, and pay her a week’s worth of wages to be here too. She’s sacrificing so much to let her little boy have more time with his family in “Codowado” and his grandparents. It amazes me, and I’m so thankful she has the courage to do this. I honestly don’t know if I would.

There is so much more I could add to this list, but wordpress is telling me I’m over 600 words already, and I think that I should go ahead and cut this short. Not to mention the fact that I need to stop twiddling away on the computer, and get this house ready for company! Oh – and I have to rewrite my Thanksgiving menu and shopping list, since the original has mysteriously disappeared. I want to get that shopping done before my folks get here tomorrow afternoon, so we’re free to just enjoy ourselves.

Anyway, my word count is over 700 now. Ha!

Visit Laurie at Women Taking a Stand for more Thankful Thursday posts. To get on the blogroll, just click on the button at the top of my post.

What about you this week? What are you thankful for?

One thought on “Thankful Thursday: A Long-Winded One. (Like that’s anything new.)

Comments are closed.