Topic 9: An Embarrassing Moment

My blogging has definitely fallen into disrepair lately, so I’m going start back up on Erica and Sara’s 30 topics. As far as I know, they’re both already finished. Oh well. For me, this is about taking the time to put some thoughts down in writing. So, here I am, writing about an embarrassing moment in high school.

The moment that stands out for me happened during my senior year, during my performance of “I Have Confidence” in The Sound of Music.

During the song, I walked around in the audience, swinging my guitar and belting out the song at the top of my lungs. One of the show nights, just as I got to the corner where our director, Mr. Conley, sat, my guitar case opened and the guitar fell face-down onto the concrete floor. The noise made everyone jump.

Without a second thought, I put the case down in front of Mr. Conley, and just continued the song. The way we choreographed it, I walked all the way to the other stage entrance, then back the other way. I took my time, so that by the time I got back to Mr. Conley’s seat, he had it all put back together for me. I picked up the guitar, heart thudding in my chest, and finished my song.

I made it backstage, and carried on with the next scene, after breathing for a minute to get rid of the shaky feeling in my gut. All embarrassment left me during intermission though, when Mr. Conley came backstage, beaming with pride that I hadn’t broken character!

The embarrassing moment had turned into a highlight for me, thanks to a teacher who believed in his students. Mr. Conley always spent more time encouraging and guiding us than anything else. He was always one of my favorites.

I will never forget that night, or the confidence I gained through it.

Needless to say, not much embarrasses me any more.

