This Week at the Faery Inn

Since school started, I have felt as though I was just managing to hold my head above water with core curriculum; math, reading, and history all had top priority. I managed to throw in some supplemental stuff here and there, but most days, we just stuck with the basics.

This week was different.

This week, I’ve seen progress in my ability to school a little more efficiently. Do you know how good it feels to say that? We seem to finally be hitting our stride at a pace I can run with. Granted, it means I need to learn to do make-up housework, but that’s okay. Laundry isn’t as important as educating the kids. Of course, if there is NO clean laundry to be had, that might prove to be a distraction during class. It’s all about balance, people!

I’ve been very consistent with our math, reading, and history curriculum. I have been working gradually towards incorporating more and more of our supplemental curriculum into our day, and this week, we got through everything on my schedule except computer time. I have some educational sites and games for both Durin and Lydia, but have yet to start them.

I have a few ideas about how to include a few more things I want to do with the kids in the coming weeks, but most of it will have to wait until January. I have learned that if I start small, I can build a solid foundation, and work up from there. I’m so glad I started homeschooling at such a young age. I don’t know if I could do it if I had waited until Jr. High or High School.

So, little by little, I think I can say I’m finally getting used to the fact that we homeschool. Honestly, I am even beginning to enjoy it. Most of the time. I’ve also started believing in my own ability. God didn’t give me the gift of teaching for nothing!

I’ll never forget how much it surprised me when it finally dawned on me that the first and most important place God expects me to use the gifts and talents he gave me is in my own home! I knew, intellectually, that my first priority in ministry had to be my family and my home, but I still had a very concrete idea of what “ministry” was.

I didn’t know that God intended ministry to be a fluid, almost living thing, flowing through the seasons of my life like a river flows from the springs in the mountains, down through the forests, across the plains, into a marsh, and down to the sea. It’s the same river, but flows through different places and serves each in the same way – according to its particular need.

Needless to say, I now fully believe that I am not “wasting” my talents as a teacher (among other things) by devoting most of that gift to my home. I only have these children for such a short time. After fulfilling my most important calling, I will have the freedom to pursue other callings with a confidence I would not have if I tried to pursue them all now.

I don’t know how a post about “this week” ended up with random ponderings. Hm. Well, it is what it is.

How was your week? Did you learn anything new? What do you think your own gifts and talents are? How do you think God is calling you to use them?

5 thoughts on “This Week at the Faery Inn

  1. I learned a few new things about me. More about things that I need to change in my own life. Not really gifts or talents…mostly weak areas of my life.

    • Awww, Kim…I still want to know what your talents are. I can think of a few, but what do YOU think are some strengths you have, dearest? Don’t make me come over there and hug you and tell you I love you! Because I will!

      Don’t allow the sight of your weaknesses to dull the shine of the gifts God has given you. Use those gifts to help you gain strength in your weak areas. I love you. 🙂

      • Well, OK then 🙂 I guess I was just saying that I didn’t *learn* about any new gifts or talents this week 🙂

        I’m a good listener! I’m frugal (at least when I want to be…) and I’m getting better at managing my time. I enjoy doing things to serve others, even when it is not the most practical thing to do at that moment.

        Right now I am working to focus on the important things in life. God, husband, family, friends. Things have gotten out of whack around here so I’ve been spending some time trying to put myself back together. So I believe that my gifts and talents right now need to be focused at home, then maybe in the next few months I can venture to friends and others again.

  2. Tiff, you are just amazing. I love your writings and your take on life! Could you forward me a smidgeon of you personality?
    I struggle lots with homeschooling demands and am slllooowwwly coming to learn some of the things you write about, glad you’re learning them sooner than I did! Much love, trish

  3. “Needless to say, I now fully believe that I am not “wasting” my talents as a teacher (among other things) by devoting most of that gift to my home.”

    So very true! God has certainly given me gifts and talents to use in different seasons of my life. Among a few, I love being a homemaker, a hostess, a mommy and a writer. There’s no place I’d rather be then with Emma right now. Someday she’ll grow up and I may pursue teaching again, or perhaps I’ll turn to writing full time. For right now I’m just enjoying where I am.

Comments are closed.