Thankful Thursday

Why is it that my Thursdays seem to fall directly after a Very Horrible Wednesday? It really was horrible, too. However, this is not what this meme is about.

The best part of my day yesterday was hanging out at Evie’s house for an Usbourne Party.* The fellowship there was refreshing, despite the fact that I managed to turn the party into something all about ME! (Nudges Erica and winks.)

Yesterday, my dad underwent Gamma Knife Radiation for four tumors in his brain. Originally, there were two, but his MRI on Tuesday showed four instead. His surgery went from six in the morning until noon, and they made it home late that afternoon.

My biggest concern was whether or not Mom would have to be alone, like she was for Dad’s lymph node removal. She was not alone. One of my dad’s very best friends, Dan G. and my Aunt Brenda hung out with Mom all morning. Jen and I both wished very much to be there, but knowing that someone was with her is enough. It has to be.

I am grateful that Dad’s surgery went well, and that he got to sleep in his own bed. I haven’t yet talked to him (left him a voicemail), but as soon as I do, I’ll let you know how he’s doing.

I am thankful for this picture Levi took this morning, because it represents, to me, the amazing blessings flowing into my life from the generous hand of God. The baby in yellow is our very own Baby Schel, asleep on top of her buddy, Baby Sterlyn. Baby Sterlyn is Evie’s little man. I had to get up super early to keep an eye on him and his sister, so their parents could take care of some important business.

Of course, I was still sporting my best bed-head and my cozy bathrobe. That just made it so much more cuddly and wonderful.

I loved it. I thought that one baby sleeping on me was wonderful, but two!? Oh! the peace that envelopes me when I’m forced to sit still for awhile, and focus on someone other than myself!

I am also thankful for the unending patience of my children the past week and a half, as their mother has not exactly been herself. It’s been a hard week for all of us, and I have had to seek forgiveness from my little ones more than I’d care to tell.

Yet, I am finding myself driven further into the arms of my loving Savior than I ever have been, and I really like it here. Here in an ocean of peace and rest, like being in the eye of a storm. The hurricane rages around me, and sometimes even within me, but I am unmoved.

It’s the paradox of paradoxes. I’m thankful for paradoxes. Especially this one.

I’m thankful the sun has been shining, even though it’s gotten awfully chilly. It’s so much easier to feel sunny when it is sunny.

I am thankful I wake up every morning to another do-over. Another day to live saved by grace, through faith. Another day to take one halting step at a time a little closer to my Father, my Friend, my King.

“But I will sing of your strength, in the morning I will sing of your love; for you are my fortress, my refuge in times of trouble.” ~Psalm 59:16 (NIV)

For more Thankful posts, visit Spiritually Unequal Marriage, our hostess for October. To get the button code and see the host schedule, just click the button at the beginning of my post.

*This link takes you directly to Evie’s Usbourne E-show. Consider taking a look and seeing if there’s anything you’re interested in. Thanks!

What are you most grateful for this week?

3 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

  1. I like the way you put that, “wake up every morning to another do-over”. I agree, and I think this is maybe why its my favorite part of the day. I haven’t screwed anything up yet.

Comments are closed.