Time to Pray

I was just going to post a quick request for my Dad, but I have a lot of friends in need of prayer right now, too. So, instead of focusing only on my needs, and the needs of my family, I decided to think of the needs of some friends and family around me too. I want to keep praying for everyone I love, not just my dad.

I didn’t get permission, though, so I won’t use names – except for family. Just in case. (If any of you know it’s you on here, and you don’t want to be, please let me know.)

~A friend’s little girl is going in for a 2nd corrective surgery on her eyes. Pray for everything to go well, for her recovery to be quick and healthy, and for her parents’ peace.

~Another friend has a niece who is again hospitalized for complications from severe asthma. Please pray for healing, and that her family would be comforted and helped practically by those around them during this struggle for a little life.

~My in-laws (they won’t care if I tell you who they are) are still house-hunting. It’s been a really tough time for them, so pray for perseverance and peace for them.

~Another friend’s husband is getting ready to deploy just before the holiday season really starts. Pray for her and her kiddos. Pray for peace, and that the time will pass quickly, and that her hubby will come home safe.

~A cousin of ours has been struggling with bouts of pneumonia this year. Pray for healing and for rest for her.

~Still another friend has a daughter with lots of health problems, and momma is struggling with some herself. I don’t know a lot of specifics on this one, but I know the God who does. Pray for continued peace, strength, and joy in this family’s life.

~A friend has a little boy who is healing from a foot amputation, due to a birth defect. He seems to be doing really well, but please pray for continued healing and perseverance. The little boy’s grandfather is also battling cancer – I don’t know details, but please pray.

~Some pastor friends of mine are in Amman, Jordan, on a missions trip. Pray for the Gospel to reach the lost, and for new believers to find a firm foundation in their new faith.

~My Dad’s surgery is at 6am Wednesday, Oregon time. The gamma knife thing. It’s supposed to go until noon, and they’re expected to be discharged that afternoon. Please pray for the procedure to go smoothly, for my mom’s peace, as she will probably be alone, waiting. Pray for rest for my parents. They need it so badly. And pray for all our family, that our faith won’t be shaken, and that we will continue to keep our eyes on what is unseen.

Thank you.

And please – if you have a request you’d like prayer for – add it in the comments. I want to pray for you, too. We all struggle. Let’s hold each other up and love each other through prayer.

“Is anyone among you sick? Let him call for the elders of the church, and let them pray over him, anointing him with oil in the name of the Lord. 15 And the prayer of faith will save the sick, and the Lord will raise him up. And if he has committed sins, he will be forgiven. 16 Confess your trespasses to one another, and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The effective, fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much.”

James 5:14-16 (NIV)

This doesn’t guarantee we get the answers we want – but it does guarantee that God hears us. BUT – that is ENOUGH!

Time to pray.

