Topic 8: It Simply Isn’t True **Updated**

Told you I was going to edit it once my brain felt more in order!

Since we didn’t get to go to church yesterday, I thought I’d use my 30-day challenge post. It seemed appropriate today. Today’s topic is supposed to be on quotes I really don’t like. However, there really aren’t many of those. Most quotes have a short and snappy ring of truth to them, which is why I like quotes.

There’s only one that really bothers me at the moment, and that’s probably because it’s something I’ve believed my whole life, not realizing until very recently that there is no biblical basis for it whatsoever.

Speaking of trials and troubles in life, people often say:

“God will never give you more than you can handle.”

I used to joke that if this were true, I must be a complete weakling, considering the utter lack of any real tragedies in my life. Sure, I have my own hard times, but those have been nothing compared with what so many others suffer through. What a nice boost to my morale as a Christian, right? I have to admit that it did bother me a little that God didn’t think I could handle very much. Not that I wanted any tragedies to befall me, but I just wanted to think that I could handle one if one came my way.

Let me explain. The only place in the Bible, that I can find that uses this kind of language is in reference to temptations, and not trials.

“No temptation has seized you except what is common to man. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can stand up under it.” ~1Corinthians 10:13 (NIV)

“Temptations” and “trials” are two very different things.

How on earth could God be glorified in our lives if we could handle everything on our own? It would leave no room for Him to use the “foolish things of the world to shame the wise.” It would leave no room for miracles. It would leave no room for faith.

If we could be sure enough, in and of ourselves, to handle whatever comes our way, then why would we ever need God?

There is much better encouragement to be found in the Word of God than pithy little Christianese sayings. I think I’ll turn there for comfort from now on.

Have anything to add to this one? I’d love to open up discussion in the comments section…

I like the short discussion so far!

2 thoughts on “Topic 8: It Simply Isn’t True **Updated**

  1. The line “God never gives us more than we can handle” has bothered me too. If He never gives us more than we can handle, then why would we need to ask Him for help?

  2. I have a fairly strong “view” on this statement.

    I agree with the “God will never give you more than you can handle” statement, but only if you add the word “alone” at the end of it.

    Life is one giant test we didn’t get to study for. The questions are always changing, and we’re not being graded on a curve. Lucky for us though, it’s an open book, ask your neighbors and the teacher for the answers kind of test.

Comments are closed.