Topic 7: Worth Quoting

I love quotes. All kinds of quotes from all kinds of places, and even have a special folder on my hard drive titled “Deep Thoughts,” which holds quotes, poems, and thought-provoking paragraphs. I don’t think I have a favorite, but I came across a quote today that hit home, and encouraged me.

“Pain nourishes courage. You can’t be brave if you’ve only had wonderful things happen to you.”
~Mary Tyler Moore

As many of you who read my blog already know, my dad is battling melanoma. It’s an ugly monster, caught too late. He’s been on immune treatments for about eight or nine months. The battle has gotten thicker and more deadly.

It really sucks, frankly.

Still, the God I know does nothing without purpose. What the enemy means for evil, God will turn around and use it for some amazing, ultimate good. It’s his love that has allowed this into our lives. At the very least, it will teach us courage, which, as CS Lewis says, is at the heart of every virtue. It’s so true – it takes courage to do what is right. To hope. To stand firm in a faith that confounds the “wisdom of the wise.” To accept whatever circumstance is placed before us as the very will of God.

Dad’s cancer is within the realm of God’s will, and we all need courage to believe that. Without this pain, we none of us would have the courage we will have when this is through – no matter the end.

So, though this isn’t my favorite quote of all time, it’s the one that means something to me today.

A pain-free life would be a life not worth living. I’ll take courage and pain over numbness and apathy – thank you very much.

I love you, Mom & Dad. Take heart – remember who it is that has overcome the world, and everything in it.

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” ~James 1:2-4 (NIV)

One thought on “Topic 7: Worth Quoting

Comments are closed.