Monday School: What am I Thinking?

Pastor Jim was back this Sunday, and picked up right where we left off in 1 Thessalonians. Most of this particular book speaks of the second coming of Jesus, and pretty much everything is said in that context.

“So then, let us not be like others, who are asleep, but let us be alert and self-controlled. For those who sleep, sleep at night, and those who get drunk, get drunk at night. But since we belong to the day, let us be self-controlled, putting on faith and love as a breastplate, and the hope of salvation as a helmet.” ~1 Thessalonians 5:6-8 (NIV)

This short passage stood out to me quite a bit.

We are told, over and over, that Jesus is coming back on a day and time which we least expect it. There is no way of knowing with any certainty what day that will be. (Matt. 24:36; Matt. 25:13; Mark 13:32;1 Thess. 5:1; 2 Peter 3:10; Rev. 3:3; Rev. 16:15)

Therefore, it only makes sense to be ready for whenever that day comes.

And something just hit me. Just now.

Part of being ready is being busy about the Lord’s work. What has he assigned me? These four walls. The responsibilities listed on my calendar and the paper I wrote on this morning.

This post is not supposed to be in the top ten. Yet, I bumped it up to number one.

Hm.

I don’t think I want to be in a place where my priorities are out of whack when He calls me home.

The End.

I’ll see you tomorrow.

Maybe.

PS: How are your priorities today?

