Sigh…

I have had a rough week this week. It feels like, day after day, something after something keeps coming up and throwing wrenches in my spokes. That whole “Cleaning your house while your kids are still growing is like shoveling the sidewalk before it stops snowing” has been very much in play here this week. Any prayers you’d care to offer would be much appreciated!

The living room one.

Yesterday, we had our new windows installed, courtesy of the IRS. (Yes, we’re just now spending our tax return money. We take our time with this kind of thing.) Needless to say, I am looking forward to lower utility bills and easier cleaning.

My favorite feature is that the top half of the windows aren’t fixed in place, like the old ones. I am now free to open my living room window, which is very low to the floor, from the top instead of the bottom. I love having windows open, but couldn’t for the longest time, because no matter how many times a mother says “Don’t lean on the screen,” screens just get leaned on by the short ones, and broken. Needless to say, I am thrilled that I can let more fresh air in with nothing more than fingerprints to worry about.

And I don’t worry about those – there are far more important things in life to drive me crazy.

During the whole eight hours of the window guys being at my house, I swear my kids were deliberately trying to shorten my fuse. Time after time, I was completely ignored and disrespectfully defied. The sibling “rivalry” was abundant and abnormally fierce. No matter how I kept watch, they still managed to get in the window guy’s way, and nearly gave me a heart attack a few times. I even caught the three-year-old STANDING ON A WINDOWSILL, ready to jump OUT!!!

I tried so hard to have patience, because the younger two weren’t able to nap, and the older two couldn’t have as much freedom as they normally do, due to shards of glass and metal being strewn about all day. Okay, not “strewn,” but still. The way kids are, it might as well be.

I was incredibly overwhelmed yesterday, and the window guys told me I should take a nap after they left.

They must not have kids. In fact, I am certain they don’t.

Anyway. All of you know how “creative” my kids can be. What with their imaginations in play and in their drawings, they seem to have an endless supply of good ideas. Well, that’s what I like to think, anyway. Yesterday, while the window guys were here, I ended up banishing them to the backyard, where only one window was being replaced. Theoretically, this should have kept them mostly out of trouble. Not so.

You know those times, as a mom, where you think to yourself, “Wow, the kids are being so good, and playing so well, I might as well get something done?” Yeah. I had about an hour’s worth of that yesterday. I was so thankful and happy, and thought my bad day was over. I thought I’d found the day’s panacea. The result?

See for yourself:

That, my friends, is a sidewalk chalk mural.

What makes this story even better is what I found out from the window guys. I quote: “I thought they were allowed to do that, so I encouraged ’em!”

*blink. blink* Are you SERIOUS???

It took great restraint on my part not to smack this guy upside the head. I smiled politely and graciously allowed him to leave with his dignity intact, even though mine felt torn to shreds.

You’re right, by the way, it’s not that big of a deal, as sidewalk chalk washes off with the first rain. That is on concrete, though. Getting it off of siding is another matter. It requires scrubbing, and I sure as heck wasn’t going to clean up that mess. The rule in our house is that if you make a mess, you clean it up.

Of course, the combination of four kids, plus wet rags, plus a bucket of water ended up turning into a water fight. Still, the job is mostly done, and I don’t mind going behind and seeing how much I can spray off with the hose. They actually worked pretty well, so I didn’t get all hard-nosed about the sopping wet clothes.

School? How’d we do in school? Don’t ask.

  • How was your week?
5 thoughts on “Sigh…

  1. Must have been one of those weeks! Life feels like it’s been falling apart at the seams and the kids have been extra trying. Or maybe I just have lower patience. Or both. I’ll be praying for you!

  2. You have more self-restraint with that window-worker than I would have had lately. Congratulations on the new windows. At least it was only one day. I think you handled it very well, on the outside at least. 🙂 I love the pictures! That’s actually a story you will look back at 20 years from now and chuckle. I hope. Love you guys!

  3. Granny laughed at this! That’s kinda how she got started in painting murals, her mom encouraged her to draw on the walls of her bedroom…

  4. Wow I must say the mural was amazing. They had a lot of patience to get that much done. But wow I would have blown my fuze. 🙂 It is such a frustration trying to get them to clean up after themselves most of the time but I try to remind myself it is teaching them a life lesson. Love the new windows they are beautiful.

Comments are closed.