Day 30: We Have Books

As my 30-day challenge comes to a close, I am supposed to write about one more moment. Another snapshot in time. Since I knew this one was coming up, I kept an eye out over the last few weeks for something I could share. I found the perfect one to show you.

I took this picture a couple of weeks ago. He was completely oblivious to the fact that his picture was being taken, so absorbed was he in the pages of a secondhand book of fairy tales.

I knew that, while his little body lay stretched on my couch, his mind and imagination were riding gallant steeds on high adventure in a world not connected with this one.

Just like his mother.

I love that he is now reading the Chronicles of Narnia, and we have food for many conversations to come. He is on the third book now, and is loving the stories. I smile with motherly pride and affection to think that not only did I teach him to read, I somehow managed to pass on a voracious appetite for books. I cannot seem to supply them fast enough.

I know that very little credit can be laid at my feet for this. It was built into him while he was still kicking my ribs and using my bladder as a moon bounce. All I did was teach basic phonics, and he took it from there.

My days are now filled with moments like the one pictured. When Durin gets bored, he reaches for books, and gets lost, and I smile in understanding. It takes a shout or a physical touch to get his attention, just like me. Books are not just interesting stories for Durin and I. They are transporters to another time, another place, far away and fantastical.

As frustrating as seeing my flaws mirrored in my son is, it is so comforting to have this trait in common.

I am so glad that, if we have nothing else, Durin and I will always have books. Books to discuss, debate, and digest together. Books to open doors into his growing heart, providing me many chances to speak into his life – whether he knows it or not.

I hope that, above all books, he soon falls in love with the Book – the Word of God. I hope that through its pages, he will “taste and see” that the Lord is good, just like I did, and that his faith will be formed by what he reads therein.

“You can’t get a cup of tea big enough or a book long enough to suit me.” ~C.S. Lewis

What a lovely place to find common ground with my son.

  • Where do you find common ground with your kids?
3 thoughts on “Day 30: We Have Books

  1. Recently I have started teaching Tyler how to play the piano and I *think* that this may be a common ground for us šŸ™‚ I’ll know once he’s frustrated and goes to bang out his frustration on the piano!

  2. I love that C.S. Lewis quote as well as the blog in general. I’m so happy you passed on your love of reading to your son. Good to hear.

Comments are closed.