Day 26: Fear?

“For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear, but you received the Spirit of sonship. And by him we cry, “”Abba,” Father.” ~Romans 8:15 (NIV)

I think the only real fear I have is walking alone, outside, in the dark. I’d almost rather not have a flashlight either, since such a bright light makes all the darkness surrounding me even darker. I also hate having curtains or blinds open after dark – I do not like it when others can see into my house, but I cannot see out. Yuck.

Really, though, I don’t fear much…

Not even spiders scare me. They gross me out, especially when they have a huge white body and orange legs, like the one I swept down from the overhang over my back deck! Seriously, I thought I was getting a spider egg sack – and it was probably a solid inch long from head to tail…

It was gross.

Really, really gross.

And a little bit scary. It wasn’t much scary, because I killed it.

Anyway…I suppose there are a lot of things that make me nervous to think about, but I don’t really fear them.

I don’t know whether that’s because I naively believe they won’t happen, or if it’s because I don’t often think of the what-ifs. Things like…

…what if my dad actually does die in the next couple of years?
…what if my kids don’t look both ways before they run into the street?
…what if someone breaks into our house?
…etc…

I honestly don’t dwell on that stuff, though it does hit me kind of hard sometimes.

I’d like to think that it’s because I trust the God of the universe, who tells me that he is in control and that he loves me. So, no matter what happens, He will work everything out for my good in the long run.

Let’s just say that I’m working on that “trust” thing.

