Day 25: A First.

Durin's 6 week portrait.

I was just helping out a friend, who was trying to get her Creative Memories career off the ground. I hosted a “Get Together” for her, with the idea that I would start a book of Durin’s studio portraits – and studio portraits only. Maybe earn some free stuff. If not, no biggie.

Then, my friend showed up, and the corner rounder was passed around.

I. Was. Hooked. The page pictured here was the result of that first night. My first ever scrapbook page.

It was all downhill from there!

I decided, right then and there, that if scrapbooking was this easy, then I wanted to do it forever, with all my photos!

Seriously – that corner rounder made me all giddy.

I had so much fun, and had so many photos already, that I decided to become a consultant myself, and made enough money to fund my own habit for about two-and-a-half years. I am still scrap booking to this day, and I love it more every time I sit down to work on my books.

All because of that first, really simple, scrapbook page I put together.

My style has evolved quite a bit in the six years I have been doing this, but I think this page will always be my favorite.

This “hobby” has come to be one of my primary creative outlets. I have streamlined the process so much, that I find myself getting things done quicker than I ever thought possible. I am nowhere near caught up, but I am making good progress. I look forward to having this pastime the rest of my life. I really don’t care much whether I ever “finish.” That won’t really happen until I’m dead. Or Jesus comes back. Whichever comes first. I’m just enjoying myself immensely in the meantime.

Especially that corner rounder.

If you scrapbook, do you remember your first page? If you don’t scrapbook, what is your main creative outlet, and do you remember the first time you tried it?

The friend who suckered me into introduced me to scrapbooking is no longer a consultant, but I found a wonderful one here in the Springs. Just in case you wanted to know.

One thought on “Day 25: A First.

  1. My first scrapbook page isn’t all the clear a memory to me, I’ve been scrapbooking for as far back as I can remember. The first books I have are mostly made up of brochures, postcards and pictures from trips I took as a little girl. They’re very basic, with my mom or grandma’s handwriting labeling the places and dates the trips were taken. I love those little books. I truly became a scrapbook fanatic my senior year of high school. That was the year my grandma, mom & I sat down and made a scrapbook for my graduation open house. That one book chronicles the first 19 years of my life. There are so many wonderful memories within those pages. I loved making that book with two wonderful women in my life, and took my love of scrapbooking to college with me. In college I made some great friends who would sit and scrapbook with me at random times of the day and night. What great memories!
    I’ve loved scrapbooking with friends ever since. There’s something about getting together with other women, sharing our hearts, and scraping away that makes my heart happy.
    And by the way, I, too, get giddy about the corner rounder:)

Comments are closed.