Day 21: Another Moment

I want to share a moment from about ten years ago.

If you know me well, you have probably heard me speak of Larry Norman, my favorite musician of all time. His music has had a big influence on my life and my faith. His lyrics challenge me, his music moves me, and I just plain love the guy.

Anyway, I have seen him in concert twice. The first time, I was amazed at how much preaching the man does. I came to realize that this is a man who puts feet to his faith. He walks it. I’m sure he’s not any more perfect than I am, but I am sure he got a little closer each day he walked with Jesus. Just as we all do.

I have written this post out, deleted it all, and started over at least three times today. I wanted to share so much about what Larry Norman’s music means to me, but that just doesn’t seem to fit the theme of sharing a “moment.”

So, I just want to share that I met him. I had a few minutes, in which I got to tell him to his face what his music meant to me, especially in how my faith was formed. I really only did have a moment with Larry, but his genuine love for people was so evident. I am so glad I had this moment with him ten years ago, because Larry Norman passed away in February of 2008. I am glad I got to share with him what (probably) hundreds of others before me had shared.

It’s a moment I will definitely tell my children about as they, too, grow up on Larry Norman – rocking out to “Why Should the Devil Have All the Good Music,” and crying when they hear “I Wish We’d All Been Ready.”

To end, I want to share one of my favorite songs by Larry Norman. A social commentary every bit as relevant today as the day it was released in 1972.

2 thoughts on “Day 21: Another Moment

  1. Though you didn’t list everything Larry Norman meant to you, I feel like you did get it across very meaningfully. I got goosebumps reading it. Or maybe I just know you really well?

Comments are closed.