Day 4: On Today’s Menu…

Well, this is a ridiculously easy topic to cover.

For breakfast, I enjoyed my morning coffee with half-and-half and sugar. Once awake, I toasted up some leftover chocolate chip pancakes, and ate those with butter and “sir-wup.” (Dain’s rendition of “syrup.”)

For lunch, I seasoned some no-salt-added canned black beans for burritos. I let Audrey slice olives for me, and I cut up lettuce, tomatoes, and cheddar. Sour cream for topping, of course. I really wanted avocados, but the ones I bought aren’t ripe yet. I am a sad panda. Oh! And I forgot to make Spanish Rice, as usual. Dagnabbit.

(Speaking of avocados, does anyone have a good guacamole recipe? I’d love to learn how to make it…)

Tonight will probably be PB&J or homemade macaroni and cheese. It’s really and truly not any more difficult than a box, and doesn’t take any more time. Just shred your cheese while the water’s boiling, and it takes just about as long as making a box, and it tastes so much better! Not to mention it actually has some nutritional value. 🙂

Just for fun, here’s how I make it (unless I’m feeling adventurous, in which case I’ll make the baked version with crumb topping.) :

Regular Ol’ Homemade Macaroni & Cheese

    Ingredients:

  • 1/2 c. elbow macaroni per person eating, plus a little extra if you want leftovers.
  • shredded cheddar cheese (to taste – I use about 1 c. if I’m making a large-ish batch)
  • a few slices of American cheese (the good, deli kind, with no oils in it)
    OR

  • shredded monterey jack (about half of the amount of cheddar you use)
  • milk (about 1/4 cup-ish)
  • 2-3 Tbsp. butter
  • salt & pepper to taste
    Garnishes/Stir-Ins:

  • Parmesan cheese, or extra shredded cheese
  • Pepperoni pieces
  • Peas (our personal favorite)
  • Tuna
  • Steamed broccoli
  • Mixed veggies

1. Boil that macaroni until it’s al dente, and drain it. (I throw a little olive oil in the water while it’s boiling – helps keep noodles from sticking to each other.)
2. Keep same saucepan on a burner, on low, and throw in the butter to melt. Put the noodles back in the pan, and stir.
3. Gradually add cheeses, and stir well, until melted. Add milk a little at a time until it’s as creamy as you want it.
4. Add any stir-ins. Sprinkle with Parmesan and serve.

While I love box of Kraft Mac n’ Cheese every so often, the majority of the time, I like the heartiness and texture of homemade better.

What’s your favorite dish you’d rather have homemade than from a box or the freezer? And how do you make it?

One thought on “Day 4: On Today’s Menu…

Comments are closed.