Faith Like a Child’s

My Durin-boy, after his baptism.

On Sunday, July 18th, 2010, Durin and Lydia were baptized in the river after church. As most of you know by now, they stayed behind with Granny & Grandad in Oregon to spend extra time with both sets of grandparents until Granny and Grandad bring them back to Colorado at the end of August.

The story, as told to me by Granny, is this: Durin and Lydia went to church in the park with their grandparents, and after it was over, asked to go down to the river. Granny assumed they wanted to play, but Durin said to her, “No, Granny, I want to get baptized!” When Granny told him she didn’t think so, since Mommy hadn’t okayed it, he got very upset and insisted that he wanted to do it. Lydia too. So, Granny, knowing how important it is to me that they understand what they are doing, asked them both what baptism was.

In their child-like way, they were able to communicate to her that baptism is what we do in obedience to Jesus once he has come to live in our hearts, because we love him and want everyone to know that we belong to him. They understand that it doesn’t get them into heaven, but is the outward expression of an inward change, representing Jesus’ death & resurrection, and the washing away of our sins, and that we do it to follow Jesus’ own example of obedience when he was baptized himself (Matthew 3:13-17).

Granny also told me that each of them were readily able to answer the questions the pastor asked them beforehand, and that they were just giddy afterward. I can believe it. I remember my own baptism at the age of nine myself, feeling much the same after the fact. I can still feel that today, actually. Unshakable joy.

My Lydia-girl, after hers.

I know it’s hard for many to grasp that a small child can really understand these things. Granted, they cannot debate or argue on behalf of their faith, but that doesn’t make it less real. I was with them the day they each decided to give their hearts to the Lord. I looked in their eyes and saw faith. A simple faith, and very real.

There is no doubt in my mind that my children felt the tug of the Holy Spirit and acted on it in faith last Sunday.

While I am sad I did not get to be there to see it in person, I am filled with joy and gratitude to God for drawing my children to himself so early. While they may wander in years to come, he is the Good Shepherd, who will never let them go. They will never be out of his hands. (Luke 15)

And, so you can share in our joy, I would like to share the videos with you. The audio isn’t very good, but that’s okay.

“People were bringing little children to Jesus to have him touch them, but the disciples rebuked them. When Jesus saw this, he was indignant. He said to them, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. I tell you the truth, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.” And he took the children in his arms, put his hands on them and blessed them.” ~Mark 10:13-16 (NIV – emphasis mine)

4 thoughts on “Faith Like a Child’s

  1. So beautiful.

    Also, the beauty of being a Christian, if later in life, they decide that this initial decision (while CLEARLY made for all the right, amazing, incredible reasons) is something they did too early (which happened to me…) they can take this huge, gigantic step again.

    Auntie Sara is VERY proud of these kiddos. Pass along my love and hugs, k?

Comments are closed.