Of Weekends and Birthdays and Sense.

What…a weekend!

On Saturday, Kim flew me out to Texas to spend a couple of days with her. Yes, it was Father’s Day weekend. Neither of us realized that fact until after the ticket had been purchased. However, both husbands were not only forgiving of that fact, but were more than supportive in letting their wives follow through with their plans, with nary a word of complaint or reproof. Every woman should be so blessed in her choice of a mate. So, first of all, I will have to give a hearty and sincere “Thank you!” to both Levi and Ryan, for their flexibility in keeping up with the scatter-brained ways of their wives. You guys are excellent men.

Kim had made lots of plans for us to gallivant about town in high style. Okay, not really, but she did have plans for us to get out and about, which were dashed when her car died one block after we left the airport!

High adventure, thy name is Stoplight!

After an hour and a half, we were picked up by a friend, and the car was towed home. The next day being Sunday, we decided to just hang out. Ryan worked on the car all day, and Kim and I just talked. Oh! how sweet conversation can be between kindred spirits! The long and short of things turned out to be that we decided to paint her kids’ bedrooms while I was there.

We found mis-tints in just the right colors for $5 a gallon, bought a few tools, and prepped the rooms for the next morning. We finished both not long after lunch the next day. The boys asked for clouds in their newly blue room – the deep aquamarine of a summer sky above a tropical ocean – so I grabbed a sponge, some white paint, and scattered clouds. Their reaction?

A wide-eyed, half-whispered “Wooowwwww!!!!”

I couldn’t have been happier!

Those kids are something special, I can tell you. I got to meet the newest, 9-month-old edition, who is as friendly as a baby can be! Such a scrumptious, chubby little angel she was! We had all kinds of fun making weird noises at each other and giggling. I wanted to put her in my carry-on and bring her home, but her mother wasn’t too keen on that idea. Oh well.

Shame on me for not taking my camera out even once. What is wrong with me lately? That’s a post of a different color, though, so I’ll move on.

After a milkshake and a chick flick night, I flew home on my birthday. Which was yesterday, in case you wanted to know. I arrived home in the afternoon to a very clean house, and a birthday present. Levi got me a Kindle. It was the last thing I had expected, but it made sense he thought of it. However, after a night to talk about it and think it over, we decided to return it. If I don’t use it to completely replace paper books, then I would probably only use it a few times a year, and that just doesn’t justify the cost for us. Maybe down the road, when this technology is cheaper.

Thank goodness Levi is okay with it, because I really, REALLY appreciated the thought he put into it. And I wanted to keep it initially. I even downloaded my first book. Yet, there’s something old-fashioned about me, and I love plain ol’ books. The real, paper-and-glue-and-cover books. As amazing and brilliant as it is that we can now have an entire library in our hands, I still harbor dreams of building a library in my home. I am one of those weirdos who would not be able to bring myself to buy the same book twice – once on the Kindle, and once in a store somewhere.

Hence, the Kindle needs to wait until it is much, MUCH cheaper before I venture on the electronic route again, at which point, I probably will. I’m just content to wait.

When Levi asked what I wanted instead, I told him I wanted a pelvis. You know, the models used in childbirth education classes? He laughed at me. It’s too practical for him, and said he’d rather get me something I don’t “need.” And I thought he wasn’t very romantic. 🙂

So, I can’t think of a thing. I really can’t. I’ve turned sort of sensible. I don’t know when, but it’s true.

How disturbing.

I guess that’s what being a year shy of thirty, with four children, will do to a person. Right? Or would I have turned sensible anyway?

The world may never know.

PS: I cannot believe I forgot to mention the fact that I have two fabulous friends who were able to take our short people for Saturday and Sunday! Levi had to work both days, and I owe a huge debt of gratitude to the Bozeman and Henry families for caring for my kiddos to help us out. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: I have better friends than I deserve! Thank you, so much!

