I Love That New-Camera Smell!

Meet the real Levi.

Meet the real Levi.

This Sunday, we bought ourselves a new camera. It’s a Sony Cybershot DSC-H20. We likee. Of course, we’ve spent the week playing with the settings, figuring out the basics, and taking a lot of random, fun pictures. Like this one of Levi.

So far, so good. I am loving how little I have to edit my pictures now, as long as I choose the right setting. I like to turn on the camera’s “Way Smarter Than Any Human” feature, and go for it.

The kids really loved helping me “test” out our new camera. I am now wishing I had not stupidly erased the few shots I let them do all by themselves. I have already slapped myself, so do not feel obligated to help. Thank you.

I think I’ll let them take a few shots of each other this weekend. We are going to have some homemade baking powder biscuits, topped with honey, and make fresh brewed tea in honor of our FIAR book of the week, The Bee Tree. (A wonderful book, by the way, and one I will be adding to the wish list.)

Alrighty. On with the new-camera fun.

C'est mois.

C'est mois.

Of course, I had to immediately try a self-portrait.

Cuteness was first to strike a pose...

Cuteness was first to strike a pose...

“I’m so cute!” she declared, when I showed her the picture just after taking it.

Adorablest pouty face ever.

Adorablest pouty face ever.

I don’t remember why he was annoyed, but I do remember that it was Daddy’s fault!

My brown-eyed girl.

My brown-eyed girl.

The only thing I did to this one was crop. Amazingly enough, I was only a foot away from her face. LOVE my new camera.

The split lip, after clean-up.

The split lip, after clean-up.

Turbo “pretends” to ride his bike, because we haven’t taught him to yet. While doing this in the backyard, the front wheel bounced up off the patio, and the handlebars smacked him in the mouth. He came in the house drooling blood and crying, and the cut was pretty deep. Levi hid under the covers and fought nausea while I cleaned Turbo up and kissed him all better. 🙂 My man can handle birth and gory movies, but a split lip? Out of the question.

Look, Mom! Orange teeth!

Look, Mom! Orange teeth!

Very clever trick, isn’t it? Bubbers thought so…

Me too!

Me too!

…only, his mouth isn’t quite big enough yet.

First fat lip AND bloody nose.

First fat lip AND bloody nose.

This was taken today, just before I laid Bubbers down for his nap. He tripped, and hit the concrete floor of the shed face-first. He bloodied his nose, fattened his lip, and there’s going to be a bruise above his right eyebrow. I didn’t expect my sweet boy to smile, but he crawled up in the chair all on his own, sat down, and grinned at me. Of course, this was after we read our story, and he had been calmed down. So, I smiled back and kissed him. After getting the shot, obviously. 🙂

Now, it’s quiet time. Three of my four short people are napping, and Turbo is sitting at my feet, playing “Crazy Planets.”* I can hear the breeze whispering secrets with my big tree out back. Life is good. Thanks for sharing a bit with me. 🙂

*It’s a computer game on Facebook, which Levi taught him to play. Since I won’t let him on the computer today (he had far too much screen time yesterday), he is using various small toys to reenact it on the carpet, sound effects and all.

2 thoughts on “I Love That New-Camera Smell!

  1. Looks like a winner! Can’t wait for the new photos to come off the presses! Let the games begin!

  2. YAY for new cameras!!! I’m glad you got such a good one to have fun with! Your munchkinees are too freakin’ cute for their own good.

Comments are closed.