Six Years & Counting

I have been a mother for six years, nine months, and a couple of weeks. (Yes, I am counting my pregnancy. Anyone who has not been pregnant just wouldn’t understand.)

My oldest child turned six at the end of May, and we had his birthday party just this Saturday. Coincidentally, his cousin turned four on the same day, and also had a pirate birthday party this weekend. I sat and looked at a ton of adorable pictures my sister posted of my Little Buddy, laughing and crying alternately at his personality shining through. It made me so very, very homesick last night. I wondered if it would ever stop hurting, being away from family.

Anyway, Little Buddy is so cute, I just had to share a picture with you:

Little Buddy going fishin' for the 1st time.

Little Buddy going fishin' for the 1st time.

Ain’t he the cutest darned nephew an auntie could ever have? I think so. 🙂

Anyway…I am finally getting around to sharing pictures of my Turbo’s party. We had it at a local city park, where they have a spray fountain thingie. It has all kinds of ways for the kids to get wet, it’s free, and only a 15 minute walk from our house.

This I count as Turbo’s first “officially real” birthday party, since it’s the first time he has been the one to ask if he can have friends over. The kids all had a blast, and the grown-ups enjoyed a leisurely visit, since the park makes it pretty darn easy to keep track of your kids.

I just knew he would love it!

I just knew he would love it!

I love surprises, so I tried to make sure he didn’t get a look at his cake until we were ready to sing to him. And – I succeeded. His first words were “Wow! Thanks Mom! How did you get the skull on there?!” (You did see the cake, right?) I’m pretty sure he was happy with it. 🙂

Because of the wind, and despite the paper plate shields dutifully held up by Levi and our friend, Doug, the candles all blew out before we finished singing. Durin didn’t care, and he even pretended to blow them out anyway. He thought it was pretty funny, actually. All of us did.

After that, there was much rejoicing in the passing of sugar.

Licking the frosting of the candles.

Licking the frosting of the candles.

K, Turbo, A, and T digging in.

K, Turbo, A, and T digging in.

Monkey, J, The Miss, Cuteness, and The Mister chowing down.

Monkey, J, The Miss, Cuteness, and The Mister chowing down.

Of course, there was also water to be enjoyed. I didn’t get a lot of pictures of the kids playing in the water. I also forgot a scoop for the ice cream, a ladle for the punch, and all the cool little pirate party favors I bought for our guests! Despite all that…the party was thoroughly enjoyed by the kids, and I’m so glad I did it for him.

He’s already planning his Star Wars party for next year! “Mom, will I be seven tomorrow, so I can have a Star Wars party?” Gotta love him.

I still cannot believe that I’m the mother of four children, and that my oldest is more than half a decade old. I look at these little heads surrounding me daily, and wonder how on earth God saw fit to bless me with so much. I don’t understand it, and I’d rather not try to. I just accept this glorious gift of motherhood, and thank God for his goodness to me. I certainly have not earned it. It truly is a gift – from the Father of Light.

For six years and counting, I’ve been a recipient of this unique goodness of motherhood. For six years and counting, I have been getting what I do not deserve. For six years and counting, I have been making mistakes, praying hard, and doing the best I can with what I have.

For six years and couting, this has been my life.

My curious, smart, funny, loud, sweethearted, adventurous, imaginative BOY.

My curious, smart, funny, loud, sweethearted, adventurous, imaginative BOY.

And I wouldn’t change one minute of any of it.

One thought on “Six Years & Counting

Comments are closed.